Netbeans or similar Java programming app + further programming down the line

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Ben Dixon, Feb 9, 2010.

1. Ben Dixon macrumors member

Hi everyone,

I am currently in my first year of a games design and programming course and am looking to buy myself a laptop for the second year as I will be living off campus. My question is about how I would, if possible, go about programming for the following languages without dual booting if possible. Just let me know what I want to hear so I can buy my first mac this summer :D

Windows games programming [XNA]
    C++
    C#

The programming will vary from AI to physics and probably back to making 'simple' applications.

May also look at getting maya for it if you know whether it runs better for mac or just get it for my windows machine

Other than programming, my main uses for the macbook/pro would be general internet browsing, typing word documents with iWork and possibly some photoshop work for textures etc as I can do all of my 3D modelling on my PC.

Thanks, Ben Dixon

Edit: This thread maybe in the wrong place, but as it is solely to do with programming, I thought it may be suitable here and I could get a faster/better response from the buyers/general threads.

2. Alan S macrumors member

C#? I don't think so, not without dual booting. Beside C# is history, you want to be learning Objective-C for iPhone/iPad programming.

Is there a question in that post somewhere? What do you want to hear?

If you are a student you will like need free, so for Java NetBeans would be my choice, but other people here will likely tell you Eclipse. If you can afford to pay for an IDE get IntelliJ. For Objective-C/iPhone/Mac/iPad - XCode, but you already knew that.

3. kyzen macrumors regular

How do you figure? I'm fairly certain it's thriving :p