Netflix on ATV...probably not going to happen...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by dmm219, Jan 15, 2009.

  1. dmm219 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    #1
    While bumming around the Boxee forums today...I saw a response to a question about Boxee running Netflix streaming on the ATV.

    "there is no plan at the moment for Netflix on ATV due to hardware constraints.."

    Looks to me like Team Boxee has pretty much given up and abandoned Netflix without a hardware refresh from Apple.

    Too bad...it would have been nice...
     
  2. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #2
    I watched a movie from netflix on boxee last week
     
  3. tkidBOSTON macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #3
    But on a mac and not the :apple:tv, I'm sure.
     
  4. Chris Rogers macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #4
    yep, you're right. I forgot because I use boxee on both.
     
  5. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    It's my understanding that the processor in the AppleTV is not powerful enough to run Silverlight, which means it's unlikely NetFlix could run on it without a hardware upgrade.
     
  6. hitekalex macrumors 68000

    hitekalex

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    #6
    Or someone clever will figure out how to use H.264 decoder hardware in ATV to accelerate Silverlight.
     
  7. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #7
    If they had the resources or the experience to pull that off, I'd think they would have applied it to the streams. I believe right now they only use the CPU for Hulu etc. streams as well.
     
  8. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #8
    Boxee does not use the atv's nvidia gpu for h.264 decoding whereas the apple software does (using the gpu for decoding is major), hence all boxee (or any other) atv mods have to rely on the main cpu for decoding. Probably the biggest downfall of modding the atv software.
     

Share This Page