Netflix performance on Verizon?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Pravius, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Pravius macrumors regular

Just curious to see for those who have used it, how is the quality and speed of streaming Netflix on Verizon's network?

2. xraydoc macrumors 604

xraydoc

I'm trying it now with a random movie (The Machinist).
    Seems OK. A bit pixel-y but I've never used Netfiix over cellular before. Looks better on WiFi.

3. shadrap macrumors 6502

Looks great here, the same it did on my AT&T iPhone 4. I am actually surprised how well it does. I could give a rats ass, all I wanted from it was to make calls. The data is just the icing on the cake.

4. tekker macrumors regular

5. landscapeman macrumors regular

I used it the last few days. The very first time on Verizon 3G it started out for maybe a min. pixelated, like a bad youtube video. After that one time it has worked just fine, Maybe not as clear as on wifi. I may live in a better Verizon data area than others, so that would be a factor in it as well.

6. asleep macrumors 68040

asleep

7. tucker3434 macrumors regular

I would call it shockingly watchable. I'm surprised. My BB couldn't handle playing youtube videos AT ALL in the same area. The picture quality isn't great, but it doesn't have to stop and buffer either.

8. digitard macrumors 6502a

digitard

Flawless for me and it's in one of the locations I know my speed is not at it's peak (as I mentioned somewhere else I work in the HQ for a large internet based company so it's not the friendliest place for Cell signal due to the fact there's enough cabling and computer crap in this building to network Skynet).

I just streamed the first 10mins of Superman: The Movie from Netflix (pleasantly surprised to see it was in Widescreen, too, as the last time I saw it was on a 4:3 release).