Netflix Problems on Apple TV

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by stockcerts, Jul 17, 2011.

  1. stockcerts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I have had so many problems with Netflix this weekend. Getting error msg's saying that it's not available. Anyone else? I'm buying a new TV this week with apps built in and I will probably use Apple TV less once it arrives.
     
  2. Aldaris macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
  3. chewbaccacabra macrumors regular

    chewbaccacabra

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    #3
    It's been crapping out on me for 2 weeks now. I end up having to reset everything and it usually works but not at the moment. And originally it was the downstairs ATV but now it's the upstairs too
     
  4. PNutts, Jul 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011

    PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #4
    None for me.

    Edit: Oops. Spoke to soon. It worked a little over an hour ago but now it's unavailable. 3:30 PDT
     
  5. jimmy1984 macrumors member

    jimmy1984

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    #5
    If you ever have issues, pulling the plug to reset always works for me. It seems when I try to pause it for a long time or always leave it in sleep mode it occasionally messes up. Just unplug it, and it works every time I plug it back in and boot it up.
     
  6. bjett92 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    #6
    Netflix is giving me an error message on my aTV starting about an hour ago.
     
  7. Dbl7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #7
    No Netflix for me either today via ATV or via laptop. It worked for me last night to watch an entire movie with no issues, but not today :(
     
  8. Mr. McMac Suspended

    Mr. McMac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Far away from liberals
    #8
    same here
     
  9. Ronnoco, Jul 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011

    Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #9
    Before the recent purchase of my ATV2, I'd watch Netflix through my Sony BluRay player connected to my Sony NX-710 tv (the BluRay is of course connected to the tv via HDMI and I had the BluRay player connected via ethernet to my AEBS). I have the PQ set to "highest quality" in my Netflix settings...
    This worked pretty well for me except for the fairly long load times and the occasional buffering while streaming an HD show (I do find the Netflix implementation on the Sony gear to be rather clunky). Then I started to have some connection errors and I'd have to reset the BluRay players connection to the AEBS...
    Enter the new ATV2 a few weeks ago...
    Much faster Netflix interface and nicer GUI, MUCH less buffering and far less loading time and thus far NO connection errors or problems ( and i use Netflix A LOT)...
    Oh, I have the ATV2 wired (ethernet) to the AEBS...
    No complaints here...
     
  10. Aldaris macrumors 65816

    Aldaris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake
    #10
    Netflix is giving me a 'downtime maintenance' message, and I can't log on through my Mac at the moment either...
     
  11. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3GS: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    It's working fine for me this weekend. I watched a show on the Battle for Midway and the the first part of a series on the assassination of JFK.

    That was just 90 minutes ago and had no issues.

    Every time read about problems with Netflix, it seems sporadic. Some have the same issues, and others at the same time won't have any.
     
  12. Burglnar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #12
    I can confirm that I am getting this same error on wired ethernet. Netflix may be losing another customer due to the stupid price restructuring (combined with this crap). I haven't decided yet but this sure isn't helping the case for keeping the service!
     
  13. Viremia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #13
    I'm seeing people from all over reporting problems with Netflix on multiple streaming devices. I'm sure Netflix will fix it soon. This downtime is probably related to their new higher priced service: Charge more, watch less. ;)
     
  14. ethanc123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Location:
    Minneapolis mn
    #14
    fail

    mine has been failing for the past few days
    why :apple:?
     
  15. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #15
    Not an Apple problem, ask Netflix.
     
  16. Rooskibar03 macrumors 65816

    Rooskibar03

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    State of Denial
    #16
    NF is down on everything. iPod, iPad, iPhone, computer, PS3.

    Not an apple issue. It's a crummy ass NF problem.
     
  17. stockcerts thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #17
    It's been down for me for several hours now. When I call Netflix customer service I get a busy signal. I'm getting very close to canceling my service. There are other options, especially if you have one of the new TV's that host apps on it.

    Why is it that Apple TV doesn't include Hulu+?
     
  18. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #18
    Down for me on all my devices, and when I try logging in to the website it keeps giving me an error message saying my password is incorrect.
     
  19. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 3GS: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_4 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8K2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Yep, see now it's down for me too this time. Getting "Netflix is currently unavailable."
     
  20. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #20
    I got in on the Mac by telling it i forgot my password. There seems to be an issue with the logon server/process. The forgot password link seems to get around that, plus it doesn't seem to force you to change your password.
     
  21. stockcerts thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #21
    And for any of you that have Apple TV, you know what a pain in the ass it is typing your user name and password to login to Netflix...I've tried this about 10 times today. I just tried calling Netflix and a recording says they're experiencing a strong call volume and they are not accepting more calls.

    I'm just about done with Netflix!
     
  22. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #22
    I went to Netflix website to report the outage and it told me all services were available. Sure enough I fired up the ATV and Netflix was back.
     
  23. Ronnoco macrumors 68030

    Ronnoco

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    United States of America
    #23
    I was getting this on my iPad2 and my MBP...haven't yet checked the ATV2 yet as I am not at home...

    EDIT: Everything working as normal today on all devices...weird...:confused:
     

Share This Page