Netflix streaming - what a disappointment

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by richpjr, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. richpjr macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #1
    I got an ATV2 for Christmas and moved the old ATV to my bedroom. One of the things I was excited about was to be able to stream Netflix shows on it. I tried to stream a movie tonight and the ATV first said Netflix wasn't available, I retried and it found the movie in my queue. Started watching and every minute or two it would freeze for about 30 seconds and then resume. I turned on my PS3 and started watching the movie - no pauses whatsover. Switched back to the ATV and it paused every minute or two again. Anyone else having issues with Netflix streaming?
     
  2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #2
    Nope. I've watched 3 movies via Netflix on it since Sunday without a hiccup.
     
  3. From A Buick 8 macrumors 68040

    From A Buick 8

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Location:
    Ky Close to CinCinnati
    #3
    I have had two of the ATV2 since october and i must say the issues you are having are the exception not the rule. To date my experience has been great. This little box (ATV2) has allowed us to cancel cable, the wife and kids love it and use it everyday.
    netflix

    What are your settings how is the ATV connected to your router. You might want to try a hard reset on the ATV
     
  4. s15119 macrumors 65816

    s15119

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #4
    I have occasional streaming issues with Netflix, but as others have said they are the exception rather than the rule. I have found that setting my DNS to the goodle DNS 8.8.8.8 helps - others have found not using googles DNS helps - you might want to play with that - I watch Netflix a lot since getting my ATV2 - and 90% of the time it "just works" .
     
  5. brentsg, Dec 31, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2010

    brentsg macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #5
    No Netflix issues here. It works perfectly (wireless).

    I also stream Netflix straight to my iPad and performance is pretty much the same.

    It's just a 6Mb/s DSL circuit btw.
     
  6. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #6
    I am hard wired into the internet and sometimes I have issues.
     
  7. Surrix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    #7
    I have similar issues, though not as frequent (not every few minutes, but a few times per show watched). Again, my PS3 also works fine. I use Google DNS.

    I've completely reset my ATV2 which did not fix it.
     
  8. NicoleRichie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #8
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    I have had issues, but I blame my ISP. I was doing speed tests when it happened and the problem appeared to be my ISP not the APTV or PS3.
     
  9. Lurchdubious macrumors 65816

    Lurchdubious

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    Mine is connected wirelessly, FiOS Internet, not a single issue since launch.
     
  10. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    I've had great performance, including two movies back-to-back just last night. I'm on Netflix Canada. My DNS is provided by my cable Internet provider.
     
  11. Yvan256 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
  12. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    #12
    every once in awhile mine pauses and you see the spinning loading thing. im wired and i have a 15mb download.
     
  13. richpjr thread starter macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #13
    I am using Verizon FIOS with a 35 Mbps upload and download speed so my bandwidth is not the issue.

    One difference between the PS3 and the ATV is that the ATV is using wireless N to connect to my Airport Extreme, while the PS3 is wired to a Second Airport Extreme that is part of an extended network. Since both are ultimately connecting wirelessly to the same main Airport Extreme I would not have thought this would be an issue. I will connect the ATV to the second Extreme and see if that makes a difference.
     
  14. Mac'nCheese macrumors 68030

    Mac'nCheese

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #14
    And the selection aint so hot either. No new titles are ever available for streaming.
     
  15. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Mine works great. Would like more selections.
     
  16. Prolanman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #16
    No issues at all with Netflix streaming and mine is wireless.
     
  17. jamespa66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    #17
    Sounds like you have a slow connection. Might want to test the speed of your service you might be having other problems and not realizing it.
     
  18. miklovo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    #18
    No issues here either. I stream to my iPad and :apple:TV no issues at all
     
  19. richpjr thread starter macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #19
    Just ran a speed test - 42.76 Mbps download and 27.04 Mbps upload - bandwidth isn't an issue.

    Again, the PS3 streams flawlessly without a single pause. Watching the same movie over the same ISP gives me frequent pauses on the ATV. I'll try hard wiring it to the extended Extreme and see what it does.
     
  20. brentsg macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #20
    There's more to ISP quality than bandwidth. I ditched a much higher bandwidth cable company for my DSL due to issues with latency, which was highly variable due to issues with congestion on their internet drains.

    It could also be that the PS3 has some superior buffering at work, which is hiding flaws with your connection.
     
  21. Primejimbo macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Location:
    Around
    #21
    you have a year Warranty, maybe you just got a bad one.
     
  22. willieva macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    #22
    Netflix pauses on mine, and the sound drops out sometimes as well. It's not the connection. My tv is Netflix enabled and I have it connected to an airport express. No problems with the tv playing Netflix. With th atv using either it's built-in wireless or wired to the same airport express as the tv I get the pausing and sound problems.
     
  23. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #23
    Is anything else going on on your network that could be eating up the wireless bandwidth? (e.g. local to local traffic). I've had issues when one of my boxes decides to process its Time Machine backup when I'm trying to stream, and also had some issues on Friday and Saturday evenings ~ primetime where the back end might be overloaded.

    In general the ATV2 streams Netflix (over wireless) much better than my TiVo HD XL or Samsung BluRay player (both wired).

    B
     
  24. mdatwood macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #24
    My ATV2 is hardwired to my network and I just streamed 4 episodes of Lost without any problems. If hardwired doesn't work I would try exchanging for another one.
     
  25. richpjr thread starter macrumors 68030

    richpjr

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    #25
    Well, I plugged a network cable into the ATV and now it works without any pauses. I'm not sure why since the extended Airport Extreme is also using wireless N, but if it works I guess I can't complain.
     

Share This Page