Netgear WNDR3700 & Time Machine?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Futhark, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. Futhark macrumors 65816

    Futhark

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #1
    Hi all, the Netgear WNDR3700 Router has a USB port to allow an external HD to be attached, you can access this via READYSHARE from anywhere in the world as well as from your home network.

    Does anyone know if i set this up will i be able to save backups for my macs on here using Time Machine?
     
  2. Hyper-X macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    #2
    Read this thread. http://forum1.netgear.com/showthread.php?t=42494

    That being said there may be issues with your USB hard drive when it's formatted as HFS+ which I believe Time Machine requires on that router. Some of the posters appear to have made it work through other means.
     
  3. Futhark thread starter macrumors 65816

    Futhark

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #3
    I think your right about time machine requiring HFS+ thanks for the link I'll have a read now and see what I can find out.

    If it's going to be too awkward to setup what would you recommend other than a Time Capsule? NAS?
     
  4. nizmoz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #4
    That model does not work with TM. I tried everything to get it to work and gave up. Airport Extreme + USB drive of your liking. That is what I did.
     
  5. Futhark thread starter macrumors 65816

    Futhark

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #5
    It seems to work for just reading or writing to from any computer on the network but not TM compatible because the Router doesn't support HFS+
     
  6. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #6
    Might want to consider the WNDRMAC instead of the 3700.
    WNDRMAC
    [​IMG]
     
  7. nizmoz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #7
    Correct. The reason I said TM. :)
     
  8. urkel macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #8
    I got that router and it's nice but the USB is ridiculously slow and also very selective about what drives will work. I gave up and just got a time capsule.
     
  9. Futhark thread starter macrumors 65816

    Futhark

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #9
    I didn't even know this existed :) many thanks

    Just out of curiosity, if I went for a TC not only will it backup my macs can I use it like an external HD creating folders to save my other media in?
     
  10. BiggAW macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #10
    But how would you back that up?
     
  11. Futhark thread starter macrumors 65816

    Futhark

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #11
    Now there's a good point? Lol what do you suggest?
     
  12. BiggAW macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #12
    That's the perennial question with NAS'es. Even if you have one with RAID or BeyondRAID, you still have to back that up. Personally, I'd have a Mac Mini server and a Drobo, and have one back up the other. You could also just have a Mini server, and have more advanced backup software to back up one external drive to another. Right now my storage needs are all local, so I have internal and external backing up to a massive Time Machine drive, and then some critical files backed up to Mozy as well.

    EDIT: The other option is to use only a NAS for backup, and then store everything locally, so the NAS is the backup.
     

Share This Page