NetShare tethering working under 3.1?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by netdog, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Inquiring minds need to know. I keep seeing warnings about upgrading to 3.1 if you want to tether.
     
  2. nparmelee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
  3. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #3
    Thanks. I was wondering about this. I still need Netshare from time to time.

    Honestly, AT&T will never get my money for a tethering plan. I don't use it often enough.
     
  4. nigelquest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #4
    Does any usage show up under tethering while using netshare?
     
  5. r6girl Administrator/Editor

    r6girl

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    Do you mean in the NetShare app itself? Or on AT&T's side? If you mean in NetShare, no – all you see is incoming and outgoing KB/sec. Data usage with AT&T falls under the $30 unlimited data plan and I've never seen any other categories or charges on my bill from using NetShare (though I don't use it exorbitantly at all).
     
  6. co.ag.2005 macrumors 65816

    co.ag.2005

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #6
    same here!
     
  7. Mark Booth macrumors 65816

    Mark Booth

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #7
    When AT&T's tethering plan arrives, if they are smart, they will offer a couple different levels. Maybe 1GB a month for $10, 3GB a month for $20, and "unlimited" (which probably really means 5GB/mo) for $30.

    If AT&T were to offer those levels for legal tethering, I think they'd get a TON of customers. I'd sign up for the $10 plan in a heartbeat. No way I'd ever use over 1GB via tethering and $10 is no biggie for legal tethering.

    Mark
     
  8. nigelquest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #8
    No. I meant does the usage show up on the tethering data meter that is new to 3.1.
     
  9. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #9

    when I enter in the static IP it doesnt seem to stick.
    Got any tips?
     
  10. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #10
    Have the 3GS (not jailbroken) with a legal copy of Netshare. Haven't used it in over a year. Could someone send me a link on how to get it up and running again?
     
  11. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    The full tutorial to get it run are in the app. Just open NetShare.
     
  12. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #12
    I have a legal copy of netshare but havent had it running since the 3.0 update..
    I tried getting it to work last night with no luck.
     
  13. thomasfxlt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    #13
    Same problem here. I can't get it to work. Can someone who has it working confirm their settings relative to the original instructions?
     
  14. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #14
    Yah I still can't get it to work gave it a real good shoot tonight played with it for about an hour.


    But still a no go


    Any help would be great.
     
  15. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #15
    Help :$

    Yah I still can't get it to work gave it a real good shoot tonight played with it for about an hour.


    But still a no go


    Any help would be great.
     
  16. Smileyboy macrumors 65816

    Smileyboy

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    #16
  17. MacWayBack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #17
    Count Me In With Same Problem

    I also cannot get Netshare to work on 3.1

    Like someone else said, I can't get the static IP address to "stick" on the iphone.

    Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  18. jo0 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #18
    ^^

    same problem..tried contacting NullRiver but haven't heard back in over three weeks.
     
  19. jo0 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #20
    *bump

    has anyone heard from netriver yet? im still waiting...
     
  20. Mad Mac Maniac macrumors 601

    Mad Mac Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    A little bit of here and a little bit of there.
    #21
    I too am waiting.... It's good to see that so many others have this issue. But I know there are many more that still DO get netshare to work.

    I hope a solution can be discovered.
     
  21. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #22
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A293 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Long shot, how bout for use with
    on the iPhone 4
     
  22. netdog thread starter macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #23
    Haven't tried it yet, but I really hope it does work.
     
  23. Advance The Man macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    #24
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A293 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Let us know. It's been so long since I've used it don't recall how to do it.
     

Share This Page