Network automatic? Thunderbolt is not working

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by mavericks7913, May 25, 2016.

  1. mavericks7913 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    I have no idea what to do with network from system preference. I put automatic mode for location but only wifi works while thunderbolt to ethernet is not working. It did work if I use 'Assist me' to create another location. But now, thunderbolt to ethernet is completely not working at all. Wifi is slower than the ethernet and I need to find a solution. What should I do?
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Do you know for sure TB ethernet is not working, os could it be that the wifi is just taking precedence over the ethernet connection. To make the ethernet take priority, go to the Network pane in System Preferences and click the little cog at the bottom. Then click set service order, then drag ethernet to the top and save.

    Does that help?

    Screen Shot 2016-05-25 at 4.22.36 PM.png
     
  3. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    It kept saying that it's not plugged in. IDK why.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    Maybe it is "not plugged in" :D
    Is the ethernet cable plugged in to an active connection, either a hub or switch, maybe on a router?
    Make sure to try reseating the adapter at the thunderbolt connection.
    Maybe the adapter is just a dodgy one. Try a different adapter, too.
     
  5. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #5
    It is plugged in! If the adapter is not working, I'm doom...
     
  6. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #6
    There's 3 connections, eh?
    thunderbolt (on the Mac) - Ethernet (on the adapter) and ethernet (on your router/etc)
    reseat everything (really!)
    Restart your Mac.
    Finally, your router should show that the ethernet port on the router is Active, probably with a light on the front of the router. Unplug the ethernet at the router, then plug back in to see which light should be on.
     

Share This Page