Network: "" can't be opened because the original item can't be found

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by super_kev, Sep 1, 2016.

  1. super_kev, Sep 1, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2016

    super_kev macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #1
    I have a network that's been going kinda funny lately, I've rebooted the router and all computers around. When I click on some computers in my network (all iMacs or Mac Minis, running 10.9, 10.10, or 10.11) I get the "Computer can't be opened because the original item can't be found." All computers are hardwired. I've rebooted the router (running Tomato) and computers. I also noticed that if I use connect to server and do afp://computer.local I can connect, but after entering name/password it won't mount. Using the the direct IP I get the same problem.

    This didn't used to do this, and it's been fine for 3-4 years on the same network, then this just popped up. What's going on?
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Have up up tried SMB or CIFS strings to see if you can connect?
     
  3. super_kev thread starter macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #3
    Sorry, forgot to respond here. Yes I can connect with SMB. But I would like to be able to just click on the computer icon in the finder and connect like I used to do, or use AFP for Time Machine sparesbundle access.
     
  4. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4
    Then mount any way to the Desktop! While that share is mounted, drag it to the right side of your dock. Also save you connection password to your Keychain. Now in the future just click to Dock share shortcut and mount the share!
     
  5. super_kev thread starter macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #5
    No, Time Machine won't use an SMB share to backup to, and since I have a computer with a RAID array serving up space that others connect to, I need to be able to pull up sparsebundles via AFP, which I can't. So that's why I'm asking, if nothing else changed, why is my network messed up now?
     
  6. 1madman1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, BC, Canada
    #6
    My MacBook started doing the exact same thing a few days ago. Happens with all network devices listed in Finder, including my Time Capsule. It started just after I installed the 10.11 beta, so I figure it's related. My other 3 Macs are still on El Capitan and network devices open just fine on them.
     
  7. super_kev thread starter macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #7
    I don't want a workaround; I want to know what's going on and what's the cause of the problem. Not your typical mainstream medical response of "here's a pill to cover your symptom". I want to know why my network has the symptom so I can fix the problem to make the symptom go away. I have a mix of 10.9, 10.10, and 10.11, and all have that problem. So thanks for the workaround satcomer, but that's not what I'm looking for. And I know Time Machine has it's quirks; I also use Carbon Copy Cloner to do more critical backups, but for some of the computers TM is easier to use.
     
  8. DJLC macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #8
    I assume OS X is being used for the server?

    I'd try turning file sharing off and back on and/or disable and re-enable the AFP protocol. Unfortunately we're in this sort of limbo where AFP is deprecated and occasionally flaky while SMB is "current" but not reliable. I'd hazard a guess that a system update broke things to begin with.

    Failing that double check your authentication mechanism. Are you using a directory service?
     
  9. DumasAyala macrumors newbie

    DumasAyala

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    #9
    So... you found a solution? I'm having the exact same problem too.
     
  10. sharris007 macrumors newbie

    sharris007

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2017
    #10
  11. louisellul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
  12. MACmiNN macrumors newbie

    MACmiNN

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
  13. jagooch macrumors 6502

    jagooch

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Location:
    Denver, co
    #13
  14. ILIV macrumors newbie

    ILIV

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Location:
    Hell, MI
    #14
    Worked for me on macOS Sierra 10.12.6 by relaunching Finder with Option+Right Click on Finder icon in Dock and then clicking Relaunch.

    In my case AFP and SMB servers may be affected by this problem from time to time but if I have a shortcut to a share served by the servers under Favorites in Finder's sidebar, it will work even though I can't browse a server and see which shares it has because "... can’t be opened because the original item can’t be found."

    Now I wish Finder was able to do gracefully handle this problem on its own.
     

Share This Page