Network configeration problem please help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Nuthatch, Dec 20, 2011.

1. Nuthatch macrumors newbie

Hi
    My Mac has decided to have a network configeration problem that I can't resolve.

Here is what I do know. I'm an amateur.
    Macbook 1.1
    Intel Core Duo
    OS X 10.6.8

• Wireless working fine on my Mac and then I went to a different part of the house, out of range and it disconnected.
    • Tried to reconnect and to no avail.
    • Wireless definitely working (using old PC which is connecting - doesn't have mictrophone for skype)
    • On advice - went into TCP/IP and renewed DHCP license - didn't work
    • Tried with manul IP address got from this PC info. the airport says it is now connected but still no internet connection.
    • Have turned things off and on router, disconnected this PC from wireless just in case limited licenses - no use

Am now stuck. Hope someone can save us, as would be Very sad not to speak to family on Christmas day as we are house sitting in Spain in the middle of nowhere (up a mountain so not hot and sunny but still very beautiful) with no landline or mobiles and so skype is my only 'phone home' on Christmas day option.

This is my first post and comes with lots of thanks for previous help when I've had a problem with my macbook (five years old) and always searched MacRumours forums.

If anyone can help I'd be grateful, as would Mum, Dad, Auntie.... :)

Thank you and Happy Christmas to you and your families.

Caroline

2. Makosuke macrumors 603

First, just to be sure, have you rebooted the MacBook? If not, do. That fixes about 80% of problems. Also, while you're at it, open Disk Utility and do "Repair Permissions" on your hard drive if you haven't recently; highly unlikely that will make any difference, but it won't hurt to do it just to rule out the 0.1% chance that was part of the problem.