Network Connection not working with windows xp sp3 on mac pro

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Metalshopteach, Aug 1, 2009.

  1. Metalshopteach macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #1
    So I have a mac pro, sick machine, love it, and want to play some older games, such as half life 2 as the mac port glitces and sucks for me.

    So here's my endeavors with Boot camp. Ran the partition and inserted my windows disk.... a note on that. I did not have a xp with SP2 or better so I made one using a program and "slipstreamed" SP3 into it.

    I then installed xp. Had a problem thou. When it wanted to start windows for the first time it rebooted and then never went anywhere but a blank screen. I rebooted it manually and it dumped me into windows just fine. No sound, and many other drivers missing. It did not ask me for my Leopard disk like many said it would. So I inserted it and it installed all the missing drivers for me.

    However, the network connection did not work. everything else save my numpad seems to work. I have no idea where to start. I have done everything I do on my PC Laptop set up to run fine within windows and the router. I even installed Bootcamp 2.1 as a post said it might be a problem there. IT did say it must be installed prior to SP3 but thats not really possible with my system due to it (SP3) installed with windows prior to reading about the 2.1. Please help, I need to connect so I can download files I need to run the games I wish to with this thing, otherwise I wouln't bother. Any ideas.

    The router is a Dlink DIR-655 according to my router access page.
    Mac info

    Model Name: Mac Pro
    Model Identifier: MacPro3,1
    Processor Name: Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 2
    Total Number Of Cores: 8
    L2 Cache (per processor): 12 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.6 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MP31.006C.B05
    SMC Version (system): 1.25f4

    Pretty much stock but with the nvidia card and extra 500 mb hard drive

    Running OSX 10.5.7
     
  2. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #2
    So it's just the nic then?

    if you put in the leopard DVD that came with your mac pro. Go into device manager, right click on the problem hardware in question and go update driver

    Select the advanced option and get it to search through the leopard dvd. If not i once had to google around for a drive for my Bosses MBP - He wanted to run vista and for some reason it would not install the isight
     
  3. Metalshopteach thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #3
    Tried pointing to the cd but couldn't find a better driver. I am at a loss here.
     
  4. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #4
  5. Metalshopteach thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    #5
    Problem solved, it was the router we think cause it kept assigning the wrong ip address.
     

Share This Page