Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!

Network Connectivity

keithclark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2013
7
0
I don't seem to be able to get my newly aquired Power PC G3 connected to my network.

I have it set for Connect via Ethernet and Usining DHCP server.

It seems to connect to an unknown ip address.
 

Intell

macrumors P6
Jan 24, 2010
18,905
427
Inside
What is the first three numbers of the IP address it's getting? What OS is it currently running.
 
Comment

keithclark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2013
7
0
What is the first three numbers of the IP address it's getting? What OS is it currently running.

It is running 9.2 and what it comes up with are:

IP address 169.254.60.11
Subnet: 255.255.0.0
Router: 169.254.60.11
Name Server: 224.0.0.251

These should be
IP address: 192.160.10.x (as assigned by the DHCP server)
Subnet: 255.255.255.0
Router:192.168.10.1
 
Comment

DJLC

macrumors 6502a
Jul 17, 2005
792
174
North Carolina
That 169 address it's getting is self-assigned, so it isn't able to reach your DHCP server.

Double check all your connections and cables between the Mac and the DHCP server / router. You could also try manually inputting the info to see if OS9 just doesn't like your DHCP server.
 
Comment

keithclark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2013
7
0
That 169 address it's getting is self-assigned, so it isn't able to reach your DHCP server.

Double check all your connections and cables between the Mac and the DHCP server / router. You could also try manually inputting the info to see if OS9 just doesn't like your DHCP server.

I've hooked up my Linux netbook to the same wire and it works fine. I have tried to put the settings in manually but they still do not work.

The only way I know of checking in OS9 (I've never run an Apple OS before) is to open the Opera browser (the former owner said that this worked for them).
 
Comment

keithclark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2013
7
0
That 169 address it's getting is self-assigned, so it isn't able to reach your DHCP server.

Double check all your connections and cables between the Mac and the DHCP server / router. You could also try manually inputting the info to see if OS9 just doesn't like your DHCP server.

I'm beginning to think that this old machine just cannot connect any more.
 
Comment

keithclark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2013
7
0
I'm still stuck here unable to connect this machine! The old owner told me it connected to her network without issue. On mine no luck at all.
 
Comment

rabidz7

macrumors 65816
Jun 24, 2012
1,203
2
Ohio
I'm still stuck here unable to connect this machine! The old owner told me it connected to her network without issue. On mine no luck at all.

Just punch in the subnet. ip, and router
ip in system preferences. Set the settings to MANUAL, not DHCP.
SUBNET=255.255.255.0
ROUTER IP=what you set it to or what it says on the router box
COMPUTER IP=your router ip with a different end number. If your router IP is 192.168.1.1 your computer IP can be 192.168.1.2 The last number in the computer IP is the only different number.
X=a number of your choice
N=a preset number that is the same on the router IP and the computer IP
Z=a preset number that is different on your computer and router IP

ROUTER IP will always be 192.168.n.z
COMPUTER IP will always be 192.168.n.x
SUBNET will always be 255.255.255.0
 
Comment

keithclark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 12, 2013
7
0
Just punch in the subnet. ip, and router
ip in system preferences. Set the settings to MANUAL, not DHCP.
SUBNET=255.255.255.0
ROUTER IP=what you set it to or what it says on the router box
COMPUTER IP=your router ip with a different end number. If your router IP is 192.168.1.1 your computer IP can be 192.168.1.2 The last number in the computer IP is the only different number.
X=a number of your choice
N=a preset number that is the same on the router IP and the computer IP
Z=a preset number that is different on your computer and router IP

ROUTER IP will always be 192.168.n.z
COMPUTER IP will always be 192.168.n.x
SUBNET will always be 255.255.255.0

I have tried this and I still cannot access the internet with Opera.
 
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.