Network folder mounting (that shouldn't be) I need to disable this.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by fedder22, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. fedder22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #1
    to put it plainly the topic says it all but for more detail here is the issue:

    When a user signs on the mac client it adds a network folder attached to my windows server that it shouldn't be mounting to a users desktop. Users need access to this folder but it should not be mounting upon logon. I'm not really sure where to start, I'm very comfortable with many flavors of linux and Windows, but Macs are not more forte besides the file system and terminal, but the terminal is still a bit different. there's no apt-get or yum :( haha.... I did some googling and cant seem to find exactly what I'm looking for, which is to stop this network folder from showing up on a users desktop when they logon to the mac client.

    thanks for any help that anyone can offer
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    It shouldn't be, no. You're not using NetBoot, are you? That's the only reason I can think of that it would happen at all. :confused:
     
  3. fedder22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #3
    ?

    I'm not sure, I replaced the old admin and I'm unfamiliar with Mac's I'm not entirely sure where to start. I thoguht it would be under system pref's but it appears that every user has the folde ron their desktop..... I'm not sure how it works myself.
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    I assume you are using an administered Mac?
    Your user account is probably being administered on a server, and maybe your sys-admin has made you a member of a group on that server, which has a "group folder" which is mounted by default...?
     
  5. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #5
    You could check the System Preferences, Accounts, Login Items to see if the network device is listed there to load upon startup.
     
  6. fedder22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #6
    Its weird, when I go to check system pref >> user >> login items it then freezes, I can view the others except for login items.

    also it is quite possible that it is an administered mac (again... i dont know how to find this out) but lets say it is, if I logged into the mac server where would I look to disable this?

    thanks!!!!
     
  7. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    If it is an administered Mac, then surely it is a computer belonging to a company, used in their network, administered by system administrators...?

    Or have I missed something?

    If it is, then surely you should ask them that question.

    If this is a home-based Mac, and you have the local-administrator's password of this Mac, I can help you.
     
  8. fedder22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #8
    Yes, this is owned by a company, I am the systems admin, i know Linux and windows macs are not my forte, I was hoping to get some help from this forum on where to start. when a user logs in a folder is popping up that is from the windows server on each persons desktop, this folder should definitely not be showing up. but the way the previous admin did permissions this isn't something I can do with eh flick of a check mark, i need to disable the users folder first and find out what else is going to be affected. Roaming profiles is implemented here if that helps....

    you mentioned that it could be a member of a group folder that is mounted by default, how to i disable this "mount by default" option?
     
  9. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    Do you have a Mac OS X Server in your network?
    Usually, when you want to "force" a shared network volume to be mounted by some users, you create such a Group Folder in the users and group settings of the Mac OS X Server (in WorkGroup Manager).
    If not, then maybe there has been created something like a "Login Hook" (unix script executed by "root" at every user's login attempt).
    :confused:
     
  10. fedder22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #10
    yes I have Mac OSX server, I checked the workgroup settings under account and looked at the group folder area, the address has (none) for each group under groups folder

    BUT, under the home section for user it has the folder mapped like below:

    afp://DOMAIN/FOLDER

    under each name, I''m assuming because this is the 'home' it automounts, is there a way to undo this or change it for each user? they technically wont ever need data out of this folder.

    also, is it possible that the setting is done via a group policy on the windows side?

    thanks so much for your help and guidance!

    -Aaron
     
  11. fedder22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #11
    any ideas?? I still haven't made any progess... :(
     

Share This Page