Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacFanUK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 29, 2009
UK
Not really sure where to post this so sorry if it's in the wrong place.

I'm looking at setting up a network in my office (currently use a cheap netgear wireless modem/router just to connect the printers to 2 computers but its not ideal), so I'm looking to buy a 2nd hand network switch but don't want to spend loads.

Would a 10/100MBs be sufficient or should I look for a faster one?

On the network, I plan to have 2 networked printers, 2 pc's (for now) and 2 NAS drives.

Thanks in advance.

MacFanUK

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 29, 2009
UK
No idea, since you don't state what kind of network you're on. If you've been getting by with "a cheap netgear wireless modem/router", it'll probably be fine.

I'm not sure what you mean about what network I'm on. I'm a web developer so I'm guessing it'll mainly be images and html/php files that I'll be transferring.

monokakata

macrumors 68020
May 8, 2008
Ithaca, NY
Look at your device speeds first. If none of them are gigabit, then a 10/100 switch will be fine.

For example, if the NAS box is only 100, then nothing you can do at the switch level is going to help.

Same for the PCs.

Perhaps the missing piece for you is that a switch cannot pass data faster than the devices connected to it can.

100 device to 100 device via a gigabit switch gets you 100, 100 device to gigabit device via a gigabit switch gets you 100, gigabit device to gigabit device via a 100 switch gets you 100.

samh

macrumors 6502
Oct 29, 2009
I'm going to disagree and suggest that if you can find a way to afford a secondhand gigabit switch, go for it. I hate buying equipment twice. If you think you might need a fast network some day, buy the gigabit device. Even if nothign on the network can take advantage of it today, it provides room to grow into later.

jcodirewolf