network switch

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by bruinsrme, Oct 29, 2016.

  1. bruinsrme macrumors 603

    bruinsrme

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #1
    i and looking for a switch that I can turn the indicators off.
    Any recommendations?

    Thank you in advance
     
  2. adam9c1 macrumors 68000

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    Some switches do not come with lights at all.
    I think that's what you need to get.

    You can get a managed switch (pricey) and configure to not show.

    Third option is to rotate the switch so that the ports face away.
     
  3. Cordorb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #3
    The bright blue LED's on some cable modems I find over powering and I just put a small pin hole in some cut black electrical tape and put over the LED.

    AND like adam9c1 I just face the several 16 port switches I use away from direct view.

    I have in the past just put a small dab of ink from a black permanent marker pen on some led's
     
  4. Mikael H macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2014
    #4
    I have a small managed HP ProCurve 8-port switch which I know can be configured to dim the LEDs a lot. I don't remember if you can shut them off completely, though.
     
  5. NogbadTheBad, Nov 13, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2016

    NogbadTheBad macrumors regular

    NogbadTheBad

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    You can disable the LED status on these :-

    http://www.linksys.com/gb/p/P-LGS308/

    However the system blue LED stays on.

    I have 3 of the 8 port ones in the house carrying 5 VLANs from my pfSense router using Ethernet over Power devices scattered about the house :)
     
  6. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #6
    To turn of bell light scissors and black electric tap does wonders! ;)
     

Share This Page