Network Teaming for my 2nd Mac pro Ethernet Port

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dilbert4life, Nov 14, 2008.

  1. dilbert4life macrumors regular

    dilbert4life

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Bolivia, according to my flag :P
    #1
    I want to set up my dual gigabit ethernet as a network team; one for incoming traffic and one for outgoing traffic. (My machine acts as a server, with 2 internal raid striped 1 TB hard drives, and 2 external raid striped 1 TB hard drives (time machine for the computer); and 2 10,000 RPM raptor drives striped as my boot drive. Anyways, enough about that.) How do I do this?

    I currently have both ports connected to my Airport extreme wireless N with Gigabit, is there a way to do what I want to do with these products, or is there something else that I need to get as well?

    Any help would be appreciated.:apple:
     
  2. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2
  3. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #3
    Which OS are you running this on, please?
     
  4. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    If you mean Link Aggregation or 802.3ad where you use both ethernet ports in parallel (both are incoming and outgoing), then the Airport Extreme doesn't support this.

    You'll need a switch which supports it, a cheap one would be the Netgear GS108T.

    If you want to use link aggregation then you go to:
    1) System Preferences > Network
    2) Click on the preferences button to the right of the + and - buttons.
    3) Click Manage Virtual Interfaces...
    4) Click the +
    5) Choose New Link Aggregate...
    6) Check Ethernet 1 and Ethernet 2, and give it a name.
    7) Click Create

    The switch would need to be setup as well.

    I did look into this a while back though I haven't got it working on my Mac Pro as none of the switches I own support aggregation (including an Airport Extreme N Gigabit).
     
  5. dilbert4life thread starter macrumors regular

    dilbert4life

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Bolivia, according to my flag :P
    #5
    10.5.5 Server

    Thank you, I am away from my server now, so I will try it when I get back to work on Monday.

    I just bought a D-Link Gigabit router, do you know if it will support the link aggregation? Model # D-Link DGS-1008D.:apple:
     
  6. Dark Dragoon macrumors 6502a

    Dark Dragoon

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Just checked D-Links site, it's shown as being an unmanaged switch which doesn't support link aggregation.

    As far as I'm aware you will need a managed switch, and you will need to make sure it supports 802.3ad LACP.
    Mac OS X: LACP required for Link Aggregation
     
  7. dilbert4life thread starter macrumors regular

    dilbert4life

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Location:
    Bolivia, according to my flag :P
    #7
    Thanks, you've been a big help. I will find the one that I need, and then post back here with my setup, just in case there is someone else that wants to figure out what to do with their second ethernet (NIC) port on the back of their Mac Pro. (yes, keywords added for search-ability:)):apple:
     

Share This Page