networking 101 plus -- need verification of facts

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by maclookout, Apr 4, 2008.

1. maclookout macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie to macs of last fall and you all have helped me troubleshoot a few things while I was lurking over the last few months -- thank you all for that. My predicament? My previous computer was bought in 2001 so this new computer had a few things that weren't available on my new computer. So I started looking at the wireless option. First it seemed I had to upgrade from dialup. I'm still looking into that. I know I want the wireless n, and WPA or WPA2 security. But there are a couple of things I've inferred from my readings and would really appreciate confirmations/negations or explanations....

1, My potential dsl provider seems to provide a router. So maybe I don't have to decide between the tc or aebs right now. But is there anything I should look out for when they provide the router? If I get the tc/aebs how does that affect the speed interacting with the provided router?

2, The security articles tend to focus on people stealing your internet connection. But how do you keep them out of your computer? Is it that you'll be prompted to establish the connection? Or is that part of what WPA/WPA2 does.

3, From reading the threads on this site, it seems that wireless slows the connection. So if I'm being finally making the move from dialup to dsl, am I going to speed up my connection just to stall it out by going wireless?

2. yg17 macrumors G5

yg17

1. A router provided by your DSL company should be fine. It may not be as fancy as some higher end ones, but as long as it does WPA2 security, and it doesn't cost you anything, I would take it.