Networking a partitioned hdd through airport

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by yellowsub821, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. yellowsub821 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #1
    I bought a 2 TB Seagate GoFlex hard drive earlier and wanted to partition it into several disks. One for time machine, one to use as a slave and extend my internal hdd, and a third to use as a media server of sorts in the house between the Mac and other Windows based computers.

    When I plug it into the Mac directly after the partition, the separate drives appear fine. However only two of the drives appear when I plug it into the Airport Extreme and locate it over the network.

    I've tried partitioning it differently (Mac OS Extended, ExFAT, NTFS, etc) and no matter what, I can only get the first two disks to appear. I tried doing a search, but all of the problems seemed similar to this but I couldn't find a proper solution to this one? At this point I'll just return the drive and build my own server which I was going to do eventually, I just ran out of space and needed a quick fix until I put together enough money for a proper server.
     
  2. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #2
    If the TM is not appearing, I think this is by design.

    If it's one of the other 2 partitions, then I have no idea.
     
  3. yellowsub821 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #3
    Unfortunately, its the media one that I can't get to appear. Doesn't make any sense to me
     
  4. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #4
    Is it formatted on an MBR or GUID table?
     
  5. yellowsub821 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #5
    MBR, and at this point I'm just gonna shoot up to Best Buy and return it and start to build a server lol, although I am still stumped on this one.
     
  6. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
    #6
    That's probably the problem?

    As I understand it, Mac OSX works largely with GUID Tables, so you can try that first before you return it.
     

Share This Page