networking G4 and windows 7

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by uniqueusername4, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. uniqueusername4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #1
    I have a "new to me" G4. When I GO > Connect to Server I see the 2 Windows 7 PC's that are on the same broadband firewall router, but I cant connect to the hard drives on those computers even though they are shared and can be read by other PC's. When I select one of the computers in the Connect to Server window, it shows the name of the computer, that it is part of the WORKGROUP windows networking and that the URL: smb:/ is 192.168.1.101. When I hit the Connect button a window pops up that needs my password and has the title SMB/CIFS Filesystem Authentication. Since I didn't set up OS X with a password, I just click OK and the error message "An error has occurred (error = 36)."

    Any basic tutorials on Mac>PC networking or suggestions?

    thansk, roger
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    G4 is a PowerPC CPU by IBM and Windows 7 is an OS by Microsoft.

    What Mac OS X do you have? 10.3.x or 104.x or 10.5.x?
    To find out go to :apple: > About This Mac.

    Also when the Connect To Server dialog asks you for a password, it doesn't want the Mac OS X account password you currently use, it wants to know the user and password of the PC you're trying to connect to.

    Guides on networking can be found via a search engine of your choice: "network Mac OS X (or 10.3x or whatever version your have) and Windows 7".
     
  3. uniqueusername4 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #4
    10.2.8

    I dont have a password for W7 either, so it should work.

    and here i thought Macs were easy peasy, everything happens automatically! ;+)
     
  4. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #5
    That applies to newer Macs. You need a Mac with at least 10.4 to get some simplicity.
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #6
    Mac OS 10.2.8 is quite an old Mac OS version, even compared to Windows 7. But we already talked about this in another thread of yours and you getting at least 10.3.x, better 10.4.x.

    Can you ping the Windows machine via Mac OS X's Terminal?

    TERMINAL:

    Last login: Thu Jul 30 02:02:14 on console
    machine name:~ account name$ ping 192.168.1.101
     
  6. uniqueusername4 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    #7
    i think i'll stop asking questions until i have at least 10.4 on there, it seems like OS X 10.2.8 is kinda like Windows 98. :)

    I tried the settings on the tutorial, same result, thanks for the suggestions.
     

Share This Page