Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

A.Goldberg

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Jan 31, 2015
Boston
Hi Everyone,

I am a partner in small business that recently started up roughly 6 months ago. We have a renovated, early 1900's 9,400 sq foot (2,350/floor), 4 level brownstone building. At our max were expecting to have about 30-35 users max, some this possibly with multiple devices. I'm looking to expand our very rudimentary WiFi (currently a Comcast router + booster :rolleyes:) with a more sophisticated setup. I'm not an IT expert but I'd consider myself above average with computer knowledge, a fast learner, and an excellent researcher & problem solver.

Is anyone here well experienced with the Ubiquity Unify line of access points as well as switches/routers? They have great reviews, seem very functional, and very affordable. If anyone would be willing to answer some questions for me that would be excellent.

My idea was 1 access point per floor, perhaps 2 on the second floor to accomodate the layout of the building. Running Ethernet is no problem due to drop ceilings in hallways and HVAC unit closets located directly above eachother on each floor. Ubiquiti's PoE is a huge plus for us.

Basically what I need answers for are suggestions on then following:
- The most appropriate hardware choices (AP, router, switches)
- How many AP's for 4 floors (2350sq ft/Floor) and 30-35 clients?
- Multiple AP's with same SSID vs different SSID's, vs Zero Handoff?
- WiFi channel selection, we're in the city and have A LOT of neighboring networks?
- We ideally want a staff network and guest network, thus will need a controller Mac/PC- recommendations on these?
- Is this way over my head? Or can I manage to get by setting this up some background skills, manuals, and support forums?