Networking Help.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dethkannon, Feb 12, 2015.

  1. dethkannon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #1
    Not sure if this is the correct forum to ask, but I've been signed up here for a bit. Hoping for some links or some reading to help diagnose/solve my issue.

    Recently I upgraded my internet from a 10Mbps/1Mbps connection to a 20Mbps/2Mbps connection. I swapped my modem & thought it would be a simple upgrade seeing as though the modem (should) have been the only thing limiting(throttling) my connection. Wrong.

    I set everything up correctly (line into house->modem->router) and was surprised to see the same connection speeds I thought I had upgraded while still on WiFi. I connected a ethernet cable to my modem and saw my new speeds of 21Mbps down & 2.2Mbps up.

    I started to look into my Router settings and found no indication that there was a cap set in those settings.

    I'm not entirely sure where to start troubleshooting as I'm not aware of all the specs on all my devices.

    List of equipment:
    iMac mid 2011 , 21.5 inch.
    Belkin wireless router: F9K1109V1 (N750)
    ubee DVW3201 MODEM (DOCSIS 3.0) - doubt the problem lies here.

    I'd really like to see the connection speeds in the range of 19-20 Mbps with my wireless connections.

    Any help is greatly appreciated. Thank you.
     
  2. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #2
    What's your Tx rate showing?

    Hold option and click the WiFi bars in the menu bar to find it.
     
  3. dethkannon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #3
    450
     

    Attached Files:

  4. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #4
    Ok so it's not the wireless causing the issue.

    What speed do you get when you plug the iMac into the Belkin via Ethernet, as opposed to the modem?
     
  5. dethkannon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #5
    All speeds according to SpeedTest.net.

    Wireless results:
    Ping 38ms, 8.81 Mbps down, 0.88 Mbps up

    Wire to router:
    Ping 37ms, 8.74 Mbps down, 0.87 Mbps up

    Wire to modem:
    Ping 36ms, 21.47 Mbps down, 2.16 Mbps up
     
  6. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #6
    Right, so the router -> modem connection is the bottleneck.

    Have you tried completely resetting your router since upgrading your connection?
     
  7. dethkannon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #7
    If you mean restore to system defaults/etc, no. I've only powered down the router entirely.

    I'll save some settings (ip forwarding, etc) and do that tonight and report back. Thanks for your help, andy.
     
  8. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #8
    I haven't helped yet! ;)

    Let me know if the reset doesn't work.

    It's definitely the connection between the modem and the router, or the router itself that is causing the bottleneck.
     
  9. dethkannon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Location:
    NY, USA
    #9
    Logged into router via web browser & took some screen shots of my settings. Reset to factory defaults and checked on SpeedTest.net once more.

    Wired to router:
    21.49 Mbps Down
    2.18 Mbps Up

    Wireless 2.4GHz Channel:
    20.5 Mbps Down
    2.15 Mbps Up

    Wireless 5GHz Channel (for good measure):
    21.15 Mbps Down
    2.18 Mbps Up


    At this point I'd say we've got this one fixed. (who would've thought a factory reset could do such a thing?! :embarrassed:

    Andy, thanks again! cheers!
     
  10. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #10

    Ah excellent!

    I had a similar issue a while back on a friend's Netgear router. It's almost like it stores the up/down link speed and sets its own cap. Weird.

    Anyway, glad it's resolved. Enjoy the improved speed.
     

Share This Page