Networking iMac G3 & MacBook with Ethernet

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by XxThatSamGuyxX, Jan 26, 2009.

  1. XxThatSamGuyxX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #1
    I have an slot loading iMac G3 running Mac OS 8.6, a white MacBook running Mac OS 10.5 and an ethernet cable. Can someone help and give me instructions for file sharing?
    I've tried Chooser, Finder and a myriad of Preference panes but I can't find how to go about making one folder on each mac visible to the other mac.
    Thank you in advance :confused:
     
  2. TheG3Guy macrumors member

    TheG3Guy

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Location:
    New Milford,CT
    #2
    well, this is because os 8.6 is .....a little....dated and it really is not compatible with os x at all. In order to file share....I would upgrade the imac to tiger, and then once sharing is enabled in the system preferences paine, it should appear on the finder of your macbook. I use this to connect my G5, G3, G4, and mac mini smoothly
     
  3. XxThatSamGuyxX thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    #3
    Thank you. It had struck me that they might by incompatible, but I was hoping there'd be a way. Will the G3 run an OS as late as tiger, then?
     
  4. p0mme macrumors newbie

    p0mme

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    England
    #4
    I have Tiger running fine on two G3 imacs. The OS comes on dvd though, not cd, and the G3 doesn't have a dvd drive, so you have to install using another computer as an external dvd drive.
     
  5. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #5
    I believe most of the slot loaders did have DVD drives.
     
  6. sporadicMotion macrumors 65816

    sporadicMotion

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    Your girlfriends place
    #6
    it might have something to do with the cable itself. If the cable is one that you use with a router, then it's the wrong cable. There is a difference in network cabling for computer to computer and computer to router/modem. There are two wires crossed over in one type. You might need a different type of cable.

    This is of course assuming that you're just trying to plug from Ethernet port to Ethernet port.
     

Share This Page