Networking Lion to machines with XP on them

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Makers, Aug 24, 2011.

1. Makers macrumors newbie

Greetings all, first time poster. I'm new to Mac. Bought a used 2008ish MacBook Pro a month or so ago, liked it so much, got a new iMac. This is a work related computer, and we have 4-6 PC's in the place that will need to get data that will be stored on my iMac. I have moved most all the files from my PC to my iMac, so file wise, I think we're all set.

However, I can't get my iMac to be visible or accessible from any of the XP machines. I've searched most of the day for tutorials, etc and here's what I have tried with no success. Forgive me if I say some things the wrong way, I'm not up to speed on all my Mac terminology yet.

I went into "Sharing" and turned on file sharing. I selected "Options" from there and clicked on the one that "makes it friendly for PC's". I added a folder to that, the one folder that contains all the files I want people to have access to. I gave "everyone" access to read & write.

I went into Network Settings, Advanced, and went to the "WINS" area and gave it a work group name the same as the one used for all the PC's.

When I go to a PC, running XP, and select "Network Locations", it'll display on the list and say I don't have authority to connect when I try to select it.

With my Macbook Pro, I thought I just turned the thing on, and it seemed like everyone could see me and I could see them. With my iMac, I'm struggling.

I'm dealing with graphics files, Illustrator, Photoshop, jpeg's, etc., and I just need the PC's to be able to access the files a create. And if I modify something at the PC level, and save it, I need it to save back at the original location, on my iMac.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Hyper-X macrumors 6502a