Networking on Windows Workgroup

Discussion in 'macOS' started by yatman, Dec 17, 2008.

1. yatman macrumors member

Sorry if this is a repeat guys but everything i've read is related to 10.4 or before and it appears there's some differences in menu options so I'm not putting two-and-two together.

First I'm a newbie to the macworld. Just bought myself a new unibody macbook for x-mas.

So the deal is I'm having trouble getting it to see and recognize my windows workgroup home network.

I see tips on enabling windows networking or smb or other stuff but i can't seem to find those options in 10.5.5 (now updated to 10.5.6).

Any help would be appreciated - if there's a manual or reference document specific to 10.5.5/.6 that's available, i'd appreciate it.

Thanks in advance.

2. Slowstick macrumors 6502

Networking

I have had some problems and may be able to help.

Are you running XP or Vista on your Windows machine?

3. yatman thread starter macrumors member

Running vista

Hi - I'm running Vista on my a desktop, vista on a laptop, and xp on another desktop. The Macbook Pro is running 10.5.6 and running vista via bootcamp.

When i boot into vista on the Macbook, everything's rock n' roll. When I boot into OSX, I can't figure a darn thing out.

4. Slowstick macrumors 6502

Try adding your OSX MBP laptop as a network shortcut on your Windows PC. The host name of your MBP can be found by going to System Preferences and then to sharing and the host name is found at the top of the window and usual ends in .local. See if it at least connects. Then let me know what happens!;)

5. yatman thread starter macrumors member

I'll give that a shot and get back to you. Off to the gym right now - thanks for helping me out.

Being new to OSX, I have no clue what I'm doing with this stuff. Vista and XP never gave me any trouble so I'm just used to plugging things in and seeing the network neighborhood and start sharing files.

6. yatman thread starter macrumors member