Networking with Wind'ohs

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Slothapotamus, Apr 4, 2008.

  1. Slothapotamus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I've seen several guides on the internet about networking a PC (Windows) with a Mac. I've followed them as much as possible but I'm getting no joy. My setup is as follows;

    Windows XP Home with a proper login password just like the tutorials said. I access the internet via a router, to which my Mac is hooked up also. I've set up the network on Windows XP (as far as I can tell it's correctly done), but my MacBook won't acknowledge its existence. I've tried disabling the firewall I use on Windows (something I don't really like doing for obvious reasons), but still no joy. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong? I'm pretty stumped and the dozens of other threads I've searched through on these forums have yielded no answers.
     
  2. zainjetha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #2
    Dont set up anything on ur PC at all.

    What exactly do you want to network, a harddisk? Just share it on PC...
    I would assume PC should appear under network tab in finder...
    let me know if it doesnt..
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    system preferences > sharing or network > advanced > win >add windows workgroup name
     
  4. zainjetha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    #4
    Can a mac share to a PC, or can a PC only share to a mac, not vice versa?
     
  5. minicoop503 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #5
    All you have to do is right click on the drive or folder you want to share, and click "sharing and security". Then put in the name, etc. It's always worked for me. :)
     
  6. Slothapotamus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    This is exactly the problem. It doesn't show up in Finder.
     
  7. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #7
    They are probably on two different workgroup names. Mac OS X is usually set to WORKGROUP and some versions of windows usually default to MSHOME.

    To change the workgroup name in Mac OS X.
    Leopard
    Older OS X
     

Share This Page