Networking

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ageless40, Aug 11, 2014.

  1. ageless40 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    #1
    Hi I dont know if this is the correct Place to create the post but i have a question and i am sure some people might have a similar scenario and found a workaround.

    I currently own a new gen Airport Extreme but i want to everything to run on physical cables and wireless

    I need 5 connections downstairs and 3 connections upstairs

    the airport extreme has only 3 ports in the back
    I was thinking of getting a switch for downstairs and a time capsule for upstairs but would like so opinion on what type of switch or any other ideas

    thanks
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2

    I have good luck with the TP-Link GreenNet switches.
     
  3. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    You probably need a minimum of an 8-port unmanaged switch. The metal desktop ones are built to last whilst the plastic ones aren't. Do you have data points scattered around the house or will it be exactly 2 locations where the wired devices will be linked to?(ground & top floor)
     
  4. ageless40 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    #4
    it will be 2 location main floor and upstairs
    do you recommend other wise
     
  5. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    I think you can settle with a 5port switch unless you have plans on upgrading.

    Main Floor
    Airport extreme -> 5 port Switch -> Gives you 6 available LAN connections

    With 1 of it going to WAN port of Time Capsule on the top floor, you will have 5 LAN connections at main floor and 3 LAN connections on top floor.

    You'll need to set Time Capsule as bridge mode/DHCP & NAT off so that Airport Extreme will be the main device serving DHCP and NAT.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Something to note here is that the Time Capsule will be used as an Access Point with the Extreme handling the routing in that scenario.
     
  7. eduardrw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    #7
    Scenario 1 (best):
    upstairs and downstairs connected via ethernet cable.
    Airport Extreme as router connected to:
    -- ethernet cable -- 8port Gb switch (7 ports available) -----Floor A
    -- ethernet cable -- 8port Gb switch -----Floor B

    If you need another WIFI extension on Floor B for better coverage you can use either an Airport Express ($75 refub.) or get a TC. Swap the TC in for the AE and use the AE at Floor B to create a WIFI connecting it to the switch.

    Scenario 2:
    upstairs and downstairs connected via WIFI.
    TC as router
    -- ethernet cable -- 8port Gb switch (7 ports available) -----Floor A
    -- WIFI -- AE as WIFI bridge -- 8port Gb switch -----Floor B
    the key word here is "Wirelessly Extended Network"
    This scenario has the disadvantage of less throughput and stability from Floor A to B


    Example for switch: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/netgear...091b-048b-5428-6afd-000011616332&kpid=8365878
     

Share This Page