Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Amigalander

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 13, 2008
For some strange reason, my early 2008 Mac Pro keeps making hard-drive access sounds / head-moving sounds. It's been doing it non stop for 3 days now. The sounds are short, about 3 per second, about as fast as you would read this: "grind grind grind" then a short half-second pause, then repeat. Sometimes there's a longer 1-2 second delay. But it almost always seems like triplets, "grind grind grind"

I have no apps or background processes running that I've been able to discover. I've checked startup items, launch agents, and launch daemons.

I've checked Activity monitor but I see nothing unusual, and no correlation with any cpu activity.

I've checked disk utility and SMART is verified, permissions are repaired, and the disk is verified to be "OK."

I've tried fs_usage, lsof, and top, and see no correlation to anything.

I'm clearly missing something and am hoping someone can point out what it is? What else can I do to determine what the disk activity is doing? Are there any apps or other UNIX commands to check? Or is my drive dying?

macz1

macrumors 6502
Oct 28, 2007
Have you tried a reboot of the system? This does sond more like a software related issue than a hardware failure... (although this behavior is almost normal for Windows, where the hard drive is used much more frequently for obscure reasons)

Amigalander

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 13, 2008
I've tried several reboots, but I suppose I should try a full power down. It almost sounds to me like it's constantly writing to a log file. So I checked Console for any clues, but again I see nothing suspicious.

lostngone

macrumors 65816
Aug 11, 2003
Anchorage
Bad HD

Sounds like a bad HD, have you run any hardware diag tools?

If you have the Apple developer tools you can run "Instruments" and load the File Activity template.