Never ending question I've had.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ppcfanforever1, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. ppcfanforever1 macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #1
    I have tried many times in the past to get wine working on a ppc mac and have failed every time. If anybody has had a success with it could they share there success stories and how they did it? A tutorial would be nice.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Ariii macrumors 6502a

    Ariii

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Wine can't emulate different architectures... it can only emulate the Windows API.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    You need an Intel processor to run Wine. Or an emulator.
     
  4. justperry, Jan 6, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    :confused:

    Edit: I should read better, you said Or an emulator.
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Scroll down to requirements.
    Qemu-Darwin-user, I wasn't aware something like that existed. I was going on the OP's question about Wine and the link I give is what I ran into after a Google search.

    Unless you mean the Q emulator?
     
  6. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #6
    So you are saying its possible? Would it work just like clicking an application on your osx desktop? Is there an app that isnt a full emulator but just a library and cpu emulator to open x86 apps?
     
  7. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #7
    Even if you get it to work it is fairly useless, look at Virtual PC, slow as molasses.
    Get a cheap PC instead.:p
     
  8. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #8
    http://darwine.sourceforge.net/
    As i recall i used this and couldnt get it working.

    ----------

    I have a gaming pc, i just want this for fun. It would just be cool to have you know?

    ----------

    On the site i just linked said this, "This is distinguished from simply using QEMU to run Windows because there is no Windows here. Just WINE and QEMU to run Windows applications directly under X. That will enable vastly better performance, better integration, and easier administration." So it shouldn't be as slow as normal emulation.
     
  9. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #9
    Not much to see there.

    I am almost sure I tried this many years ago, can't really remember if it worked, if it did I would most probably still have it.

    Edit: Downloading it now, see what it does.
     
  10. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #10
    Ok, im just gonna try it one more time just for peace of mind. Thanks
     
  11. justperry, Jan 6, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2013

    justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #11
    Downloaded but I think I have font problems, My X11 also is not 100% I think and if I click one included App it shows me a link to download freetype from:

    http://www.freetype.org/

    But, no OS X version of this????


    Edit: Log Output:

    Wine cannot find the FreeType font library. To enable Wine to
    use TrueType fonts please install a version of FreeType greater than
    or equal to 2.0.5.
    http://www.freetype.org
    Building font metrics. This may take some time...
     
  12. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #12
    Did the fonts download? Back when i tried i had to search for half an hour for the fonts online.
     
  13. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #13
    :confused:

    What did you do?
     
  14. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #14
    What do you mean?
     
  15. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #15
    And round and round we go:p

    I thought you downloaded the needed fonts/extra software, I thought you had it working, my bad.

    I think I will try to install and compile the freetype software.
     
  16. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #16
    That would be awesome if you could.
     
  17. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #17
    I just did, the download and complile went OK, but now I get this:

    Font metrics: 100.0% done
    err:advpack:create_tmp_ini_file Unable to create temp ini file
    Failed to open the service control manager.
    err:advpack:create_tmp_ini_file Unable to create temp ini file
    wine: Unhandled alignment at address 0x0 (thread 0009), starting debugger...

    It might be my X11, I really have to try to reinstall.

    Now you should download this: Download freetype-2.4.11.tar.bz2 (1.5 MB)

    Then untar, just double click, it untars, you then get a folder.

    Next step, open terminal and type:

    cd and drag the folder to it and hit enter.
    Then drag the configure into terminal and hit enter, it starts to config, may take a while.

    Next i finished type : make
    If finished type : make install

    Now try to use Darwine again, does it work for you?
     
  18. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #18
    I cant test it tonight but tomorrow i will, i shut everything down for the night. Ill get back to you tomorrow afternoon after i try it. Btw what os and processor are you using? Night
     
  19. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #19
    Powerbook G4 1.67 10.5.8

    I have a screenshot below, it does not work yet, although the extra freeType worked.

    OK, see ya later.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #20
    I finally got a chance to test it out, heres what I got.

    [​IMG]

    then once I press either button I get this...

    [​IMG]

    In the log I get errors in the beginning and end of the freetype font check percentage thing.
     
  21. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #21
    Yup, I got the same here, but haven't tried more after my last post.
    I will look into it today again.
     
  22. ppcfanforever1 thread starter macrumors regular

    ppcfanforever1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #22
    Ok thanks, hopefully we can get this working. It would benefit alot of people.
     

Share This Page