Nevermind Not being able to downgrade on 3GS, you can't even Update!!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Bdubb, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. Bdubb macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #1
    Well I just dropped 440 bucks on a second hand 3Gs, I was all excited b/c it's only at firmware 3.1 and with the 5.11.07 baseband. Things made sense

    Anyway bring it home just want to update it to 3.1.2 and just j/b with BlackRain..but no dice... Guess I didn't do my research well.

    iTunes is automatically giving me the finger and saying "no! No!" No "Shift Update" for you! No second last firmware for you! only the latest, or GTFO!

    So yeah I guess it's similar to trying to downgrade a 3Gs. I am uber frustrated, I guess I can always just jailbreak the 3.1,,,anyone has any suggestions to help me find a way around this or there isn't any? I would appreciate the help, thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #2
    You are correct. You can only install or restore to the current Apple supported firmware on the 3GS, unless you happened to have your SHSH's on file on Cydia. You might get lucky and find that your devices SHSH files are on the cydia servers, assuming the previous owner jailbroke it for you. For that matter, is it jailbroken now? If so, open up Cydia and see if it says it has a SHSH on file.
     
  3. Bdubb thread starter macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #3
    Well unfortunatley the previous (original) owner of my phone did not jailbreak it or do anything to it, he was a very casual user, I asked him and he said he didn't do any jailbreaking, No I haven't' jailbroken it yet to 3.1. I am hoping I will find a way to update it to 3.1.2, but the possibilities of that happening seem slim now.

    I was wondering is there a way to obtain ( download) SHSH files from Cydia online through a trusted source? Or such thing is not possible, since SHSH files are unique to the specific phone they were backed up on?

    there has to be a work around this, no? if not shall I just go ahead and jailbreak it on 3.1? whats the best method for that? please
     
  4. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    Here is what you can do:

    1) Jailbreak at 3.1 using Redsn0w.

    2) Create using PwnageTool or obtain from a trusted source a custom 3.1.2 firmware and shift-restore to it in recovery mode.

    Once your phone is jailbroken at 3.1, you should have no problem shift-restoring to a custom firmware, since the jailbreak process patches the signature check out of the bootloader.
     
  5. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #5
    soooo... do u need the phone unlocked???

    y not jailbreak 3.1. open cydia. BACKUP THE KEYS TO SAURIKS SERVER.. Then upgrade to 3.1.3 while preserving the baseband....
     
  6. Bdubb thread starter macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #6

    HA! you guys are awesome! haha sorry I must be slow, I guess once I jailbreak it on 3.1 I can easily go from there.. I have no idea why I did not think of that! duh! thanks so much guys... and gigapocket No, the good news is I don't even need the phone unlocked, since it's already locked to my Carrier (Rogers) I just need it jailbroken.

    So I will follow your intsructions 'TheLatinist' and hopefully able to back up my SHSH to Cydia and go from there.

    This brings up a second question though, would you guys recommend the 3.1.3 (custom) firmware upgrade while preserving the old (05.11.07) baseband?

    or... shall I just stop at 3.1.2?

    (one of the peeps on antoher thread recommend I just stay on 3.1.2 )

    is there any harm in running my 3Gs on 3.1.3 "fake/custom" firmware? I'd like to have it on 3.1.3 instead of 3.1.2 since some of the latest games and apps only run on 3.1.3, but safety is more of a priority for me here

    ( unless this custom 3.1.3 with old b.band is perfectly safe...)

    I rather stay at a safer firmware where my options to unlock, jailbreak etc, are more open, u know? which one of the two would you recommend?
     
  7. scottuf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    NPB, FL
    #7
    don't think you can backup the keys on an older firmware since apple no longer signs them.
     
  8. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #8
    I know he can't get the keys for 3.1.2 but I wasn't sure if cydia will copy the keys from your current firmware..

    Quite frankly.. I would only preserve the baseband if i plan om Selling the device in the next year or so
     
  9. tmatthews14 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #9
    I just jailbroke my 3gs to 3.1.3 yesterday, and I still have the old 5.11 bb.
    So far I have had no problems... but it was yesterday.
    No complaints.
    Do you know if you would have a tethered or untethered jailbreak?
    What are the 3rd, 4th and 5th digits of your serial number??
     
  10. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #10
    He should have an untethered jailbreak since it came with 3.1
     
  11. Bdubb thread starter macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #11
    Edit: my 3rd and 4th and 5th digits are "938" so is this tethered or untethered? ..and what is it mean if it is or not?



    Ok this really sucks..I did some research online and I cannot find anyway to unlock a 3Gs 3.1 without being jailbroken to 3.0.1 first.

    It's impossible for me to do that since I cannot sign on any older .ipsw restore Firmware packages on my 3Gs... can someone please be kind enough to give me step by step on how to jailbreak a "virgin" ( not previously jailbroken) iPhone 3Gs running on the 3.1 firmware with05.11.07 base band? please, thanks
     
  12. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
  13. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #13
    Uhhh it is possible.. Jailbreak with blackra1n unlock using blacksnow...
    You have an untethered jailbreak. Your phone was made 2 weeks before the cut off
    Search for something called jailbreak matrix on macrumors... It's a guide showing what can be done on each firmware with each device
     
  14. Bdubb thread starter macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #14
    Yeah I was thinking of that I did download Blackra1n, but It seems to only mention Jailbreaking firmware 3.1.2, I couldn't find a Blackra1n version for firmware 3.1.

    shall I just go ahead and us (Blackra1n jailbreak 3.1.2) on my 3Gs 3.1? is it safe you recon?
     
  15. Bdubb thread starter macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #15
    ok thanks.. I am very hesitant to do anything ( stupid or wise) as you may have already sensed :confused:
     
  16. tmatthews14 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #16
    Yeah, so you would have an untethered, which is preferred.
    A tethered jailbreak means that every time the phone is turned off, it will go into recovery mode, and you would have to plug it into the computer and re-run your jb program to boot it up.
    But you dont have to worry about that.
     
  17. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #17
    My vote is go for it. It won't require Apple to check the firmware, and it's pretty easy. Per the "Jailbreak Matrix" post in the hacks section, it should work. Good luck!
     
  18. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #18
    yeah.. thats what i would do... use blackra1n
     
  19. gigapocket1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #19
    or you can use pwnage tool.. which will make a custom restore bundle.. preserving your baseband, and automatically has the jailbreak included in it.....
     
  20. Penguissimo macrumors 6502a

    Penguissimo

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Michigan
    #20

    Cydia copies the ECID from your device and then queries Apple for the SHSH. And Apple will only send SHSH blobs for the current firmware.
     
  21. Bdubb thread starter macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #21
    Ok guys thank you so much!! Blackra1n work flawlessly

    so now I am on a 3Gs 3.1 jailborken, I also told Cydia to "Make My Life Easier"

    and now when I start Cydia on the home page it says "This device has SHSHs on file for iPhone OS: 3.1.3"

    Ok So far so good

    My goal is to reach (custom) firmware 3.1.3 with the old bootloader (baseband 05.11.07)
    I also like to be Unlocked and Jailbroken, unlocking is not a priority so if it is not recommended I can skip it, but since I am on a pay as you go term with Rogers, I may want to look at other pay as you go providers ( Fido seems to have better rates) so I'd like to have the unlock, just in case I decide to ditch Rogers and their overpriced rates.

    anyway, now what's the best way to get to 3.1.3 from here (3.1. jailbroken)

    can someone please guide me thanks
     
  22. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #22
    There is absolutely no reason to install 3.1.3. I can understand upgrading to 3.1.2 if you need any of the new features introduced in that version, but 3.1.3 really offers nothing of value to most people over 3.1.2. The primary purpose of 3.1.3 was to patch the USB exploit out of the bootloader to prevent jailbreaking. If you must upgrade, my strong advice is to create or obtain an unactivated custom 3.1.2 firmware, put your phone in recovery mode, and restore to it.
     
  23. Bdubb thread starter macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #23
    Ok cool I am reconsidering 3.1.3 I don't want to do it, I also don't care for unlocking my phone, (not necessary) so at the moment I have a jailbroken 3.1, shall I just go ahead and update the firmware to 3.1.2 the regular, proper itunes way?

    shall I plug it into itunes and hold SHIFT /Update and direct iTunes to the regular 3.1.2 .ipsw Restore, and let it Update? (my guess is, since my 3Gs phone is jailbroken now, iTunes will not give me problems SIGNING it, thus it will allow me to restore on 3.1.2)

    and once I'm on legit 3.2.1 shall I use Blackra1n to jailbreak it again?

    Does this make sense? shall I do this? or no?
     
  24. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #24
    I already answered you. Twice. Use a custom 3.1.2.
     
  25. Bdubb thread starter macrumors regular

    Bdubb

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #25
    I apologize for being naggy and repetitive, yes, you did tell me, I am just tippy toeing through this very carefully, Step by Step. and so far it's been paying off, I just don't wanna do things fast and click on the wrong button, or do anything stupid...sorry I'm new at this.

    I just want to say You guys are super helpful here, I really appreciate the time and patience you put in to direct lost people like me in the right direction.

    I much rather be the annoying guy who asks TOO MANY "dumb" QUESTIONS that start with "Shall I do this? ...Shall I do that first?"

    Rather than the less annoying guy with FEWER QUESTIONS that start with "Oh No I did this!!..now what should I do to fix it?" :)
     

Share This Page