Neverwinter Nights on Windows 7

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Barnzee, May 31, 2011.

  1. Barnzee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    #1
    Anybody have any luck getting the first Neverwinter Nights to work on windows 7? I bought the diamond version but can't get it past the launch window.

    It would be a shame if I can't play it because I loved the 2nd one.
     
  2. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #2
    its so easy to run without Windows... why run it under Windows?

    Theres a Mac version, but it will die off with 10.6 since it needs rosetta. But you can hack the Windows version to use the Demo version and run it.

    It also runs great with Wineskin or Crossover, even on Lion.
     
  3. Killery96, May 31, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2011

    Killery96 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #3
    Weird, cause I run it on 10.6.7 on a 2009 MBP 13". Game has low graphics (but great spell effects, mind you), and at full res and max settings it's pretty fun, nowhere near as demanding as NWN 2. I really recommend you just get it for mac...
     
  4. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    what is weird about that? I didn't say it would not work on 10.6, that it would die off with 10.6, because 10.6 is the last OS with Rosetta, which it needs... meaning the Mac version will no longer run on 10.7
     
  5. Barnzee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    #5
    OK I guess I'll give wineskin and crossover a try. how do I do this?
     
  6. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #6
    with Wineskin...

    you'd download Wineskin Winery (http://wineskin.doh123.com/Latest_Update.html), then in there get the latest engine WS7Wine1.3.21 (should work fine for NWN, though I think mine is still running on WS7Wine1.2.2). Then you'd hit Update under the wrapper section to get Wineskin 2.3 master wrapper.

    After that you can create a wrapper, and call it Neverwinter Nights.... you won't need gecko when it prompts, so just hit cancel when it asks about that. When the wrapper is done, hit the "View In Finder" button (or it will be in Your home folders's Application folder under Wineskin).

    Right click the new nwn wrapper and select "Show Package Contents" and you can see inside of it. Run the Wineskin.app program that is just inside, and use its "Install Windows Software" button to select the setup program from the install disc and run through the install... if at all possible never install DirectX or other junk it tries to add on. When its done installing, do not let it run if there is a checkmark option for that. It will prompt asking what exe is the main exe its supposed to run, and you should choose nwn.exe (this can always be changed later under the Advanced menu).

    At that point, the game should run fine... just double clicking the wrapper in Finder like any other app, but you'd want to download the 1.69 patch (for Windows) and run the patch (you can just drag and drop the patch exe on the wrapper and it'll run it). You can look in the Advanced menu in Wineskin.app and change out the icon, or set the Version listed in Finder or whatever else you want... but the game has always worked really easy for me.... and you'll now have a normal Mac app you can double click and run like any other app... you can move it anywhere you want, like throw it over in /Applications.... or zip it and move it to a different Mac and still play it fine, since you just got done porting it :)
     
  7. Barnzee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    #7
    wow that seems confusing:eek: but I'll give it a try when I get home from work. Also I own the retail diamond version, not a digital copy but it should still work right?
     
  8. Barnzee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Location:
    Oak Harbor, WA
    #8
    It Works!!! Mwhuahahahaha ~cough~ hahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!:D

    Thanks doh123, I couldn't have done it w/o you;) although It does't seem to play the movies for some reason...:confused:
     
  9. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #9
    just the intro movie should be messed up... but the cutscene movies during the game should work fine.
     

Share This Page