New 13" vs Refurb 15"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by canes960, Aug 13, 2011.

1. canes960 macrumors 6502

Okay I am looking at buying a laptop for school. I am majoring in business so I don't need a lot. Right now I have a 17" Dell laptop. I hate but that's not the point. Which do you guys in opinion is a better deal?

Buying a new 13" MBP 2.3 i5
    4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    320GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)

or

A refurbished 15" MBP 2.4 i5
    15.4-inch LED-backlit glossy widescreen display (1440 x 900 pixel)
    4GB (2 x 2GB) of 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM
    320GB Serial ATA @ 5400 rpm
    8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
    NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M graphics processor with 256MB of GDDR3 memory

Also how often does Apple get more computers for the refurbished store? Thank you guys so much for your help.

2. The-Pro macrumors 65816

Hey man,

Whats best for you to purchase is dependent on your current needs and your future needs. What applications do you use?? Do you play games in your free time?? How much do you value portability, 15" is fairly big, in my oppinion absolutly ok and not too big if you have to take it to class. 13" of course is better for taking places but the 13" also lacks lots of features of the 15"

The CPU of the 13" is slightly faster due to the Sandy Bridge architecture, a difference you wont notice in real world use. It might cut a couple of seconds of a Handbrake process but thats it. The RAM in the 13" is also faster then in the 15" but that difference is also not noticeable. So your decision should not be based upon those two differences.

Biggest differences are:
    15" has bigger screen (obviously :D ), more pixels so more space to display stuff
    15" has better speakers