new 15"mbp or air+ imac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by dontcallmyname, Jun 18, 2012.

1. dontcallmyname macrumors member

Okay so my 13" macbook pro died yesterday And i now find myself with no computer. I had it for 4.5 years and used it pretty heavily. It died a slow and painful death. The battery was fried a long time ago and made it a little useless for taking to uni. I'm in my fourth year and want to be able to take notes on my laptop in class and to be able to take it everywhere. I have an iPad but as a law student, it isn't practical. While I tried to take my old laptop everywhere, it was difficult at times and i suspect a 15" would be worse. I don't want another 13"mbp.
    I wouldn't want an air as my only computer. I'd have to rely way too much on hard drives and I have too many as it is.
    I do a bit of photography and graphic design so the mbp appeals, but its too bulky to tote to uni. I know it is now much slimmer but it is still 15".
    Is buying an imac and an air silly? If I did, I would use the laptop at uni/work etc exclusively, then work from the imac at home. I thought it was a stupid idea of my mother until I did the maths and realised it could equal or even be cheaper than the new mbp. If i were to do this, I suspect both machines would take less of a beating and work better for longer. my old laptop struggled for the last 2.5 years of its life because i abused it lol. I have at least 2:5 years of study left, possibly longer.

I can also get an air now but have to wait for mbp.

Is this a stupid idea? And should I wait for new Imacs to come out?

Thanks

2. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

...21.5" iMac and an 11" MBA would be a great combo IMHOP (the 11" MBA on next year's refresh is on my list to replace my HP DM4 in my signature as I decided to keep my 13.3" whitebook in my signature) and give the newer HP to a family member who needs the win7 for his work/school environment with out having to pay for a win OS.