New 15" MBP - To go High or Low end?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SteveSwish, Oct 26, 2011.

1. SteveSwish macrumors newbie

Hey guys. Ive been a long time follower of Macrumors, but this is my first post. I searched for a similar article for a little bit, but couldnt find a definitive answer.

Im a Filmmaker and design student so I use FCP as well as the full Adobe Collection very often. So, im wondering if its worthwhile for me to get the high end version of the new 15" MBP ($300 more with student disc) for the slight processor and gfx bump. Ive got about 3 more years of school and a long career ahead of me... so im also considering if I need to buy this laptop to last me a while or if I should go low end and expect to replace it sooner.

Any suggestions as to which might be a better option?

Also, a lot of people have been telling me to wait to upgrade the RAM later if I feel I need it. Can that be done outside of apple at a cheaper cost?

Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks

2. Wattser93 macrumors regular

If you have to get a laptop and need it to do all that, at least get the high res screen on the 15". I'd recommend the 17" though for the screen space. I wouldn't expect to buy a laptop and get 4 years of video editing out of it. Generally, power users need to replace their equipment more often than that, simply because of how demanding video editing (especially HD) is.

If you don't need a laptop, a 27" iMac would be a good alternative, offering a much larger screen (in size and resolution) and would be significantly more powerful.

RAM can always be added on your own. I added RAM to my 13" MBP and it's extremely simple. Simply open the case, pull the tabs securing to the RAM to the side to release the RAM, pull out the RAM, and put the new RAM in. Easy as that. My instructions are more difficult to read than swapping the RAM is.

3. SteveSwish thread starter macrumors newbie