Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Gloor

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2007
Hi,

I bought the new iMac and I noticed some display issues. When I set the screen to just black only, I can see some backlight bleeding on the bottom and the top. I can only see it when the i set the whole screen to black colour and I switch all the lights off in my room. I went to the Apple store and exchange the iMac for another one but this one has exactly the same problem. I also checked some iMacs at the Apple store but as the store had lights fully on, I couldn't really see anything.
What do you guys think? Here are some pics :

Attachments

• 24082007043.jpg
    24082007043.jpg
    250 KB · Views: 246
  • 24082007045.jpg
    24082007045.jpg
    198.3 KB · Views: 355

Muncher

macrumors 65816
Apr 19, 2007
California
Umm... I'm no expert here, but the iMacs don't have LED backlighting yet, they're still flourescent. Shouldn't that be normal? (I really hope it is, 'cause I just ordered one of those suckers :D)

DTG

macrumors member
Oct 5, 2003
UK
I can only see it when the i set the whole screen to black colour and I switch all the lights off in my room.

So where's the problem?

I presume this doesn't effect watching DVDs and the like from what you've said.

If that's all you can find wrong with the machine then consider yourself lucky and remain content with the very excellent computer that you have.

Gloor

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2007
well, when i watch a movie that has the black lines (don't know how you call it) on the bottom and the top then I get the same problem. It's less obvious thought as your eye is tricked by the colour and light from the movie but the uneven backlighting is still there.
I don't consider myself lucky when I have 22" display with my pc that has perfect backlighting. Why should i be happy with such a huge leak?

HLdan

macrumors 603
Aug 22, 2007