New 2010 Mac Mini (Power supply) question.

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by byke, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. byke macrumors 6502a

    byke

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    LDN. UK
    #1
    With the release of this very beautiful product I find myself wanting and almost convincing myself that I need one. However the price for the latest Mac Mini is very much "Out there" IMHO. Especially if you plan to have the upgrades such as 4Mb Ram / 500 MB HD / 2.6ghz Processor.

    So after realizing the price in Europe of this item will need more than a few tubs of Anal Ease lubrication, I have started to look at the US store and maybe have a friend ship one over to me.

    The question is, however.
    Do the US Mac Mini models have a different internal power supply to the regular 240volts of Europe?

    /Cheers
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
  3. qwerty808 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    #3
    that's good news.... i think the old models were 110v only with the external power adaptor? i think... in japan they were 110v only.
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Really? That seems a bit incongruous, considering every other Apple product is shipped with the necessary power accessories to handle almost any international voltage/frequency you'll find... but I suppose it's possible and the older ones might have indeed shipped with regional power supplies.
     
  5. byke thread starter macrumors 6502a

    byke

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Location:
    LDN. UK
    #5
    Do you think by any chance there is an internal switch to specify the voltage for 240? or is this automatic?
     
  6. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #6
    It's likely automatic, as most power supplies are these days. The former Mini supported 220 volts as well.
     
  7. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #7
    The old brick was labeled 120 when sold in the US and 120/240 when shipped overseas. Reports are it was the same brick, and in fact worked at 220. But it wasn't labeled for such and I guess could cause problems.
     

Share This Page