New 2015 Mac Pro owner, few questions.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by M Powered, Nov 3, 2015.

  1. M Powered macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #1
    I got the base Mac Pro (Quad core, D300, 12GB) Planning on upgrading the cpu down the line, my question is regarding memory.

    I upgraded to Corsair Vengence 32GB (4x8gb) 1866mhz. When I click on the About my mac it shows the memory is only 1333mhz.

    Do I have a faulty memory stick?

    OS 10.11.1
     
  2. p.l macrumors member

    p.l

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #2
    Can you link to the ram? are your sure you purchased PC3-14900??
     
  3. Max(IT) Suspended

    Max(IT)

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Italy
  4. h9826790, Nov 4, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    My guess would be the system can only run your RAM at CL9 (1333MHz), because the nMP can only run at 1866MHz with CL13, but not CL10 (your RAM's spec).
     
  5. wsc9005 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #6
    lol, I wish 2015 Mac Pro has been released already
     

Share This Page