new 2019 display for mac pro 6,1 late2013 6 core

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by area08, May 12, 2019.

  1. area08, May 12, 2019
    Last edited: May 14, 2019

    area08 macrumors newbie

    area08

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #1
    Hi there,

    My thunderbolt display has gone. So I need to buy a new display in 2019.
    Which one do I need to choose.
    Minimum size 27". 4 or 5K

    Let me know and if adapter or special cable is needed, tell me that as well.

    Usage
    graphisoft archicad (java-script)
    render engine cinema 4D

    pricing max $ 1.500

    UPDATE: i've been told by Apple that a 4K won't work with a MacPro, because of the protocol it uses.
    Only 5K is working with .......
    Anyone who run's a 4K help me out.

    iiyama ProLite XB2779QQS-S1; is the display i've chosen € 519,-
     
  2. mattspace macrumors 65816

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    More specific info - wide gamut, high refresh rate, budget, 4k+ etc?
     
  3. area08 thread starter macrumors newbie

    area08

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #3
    post updated
    --- Post Merged, May 12, 2019 ---
    any info would do; i have no specific preference; money wise and at least 4K is the only limitation.
    it must run archicad seamlessly with it's cinema 4d render engine
     
  4. CC88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #4
    What about BenQ PD3200U?

    It was an alternative to my loved LG in signature.
     
  5. area08 thread starter macrumors newbie

    area08

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #5
    Txs. But by now i've been told, by Apple, that only 5K will run with a 2013 iMac pro.
    The protocol of a 4K seems to be the problem.

    What do you have for a monitor and how do you plug it to your MacPro.

    Gr, Ronald
     
  6. th0masp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Location:
    germany
    #6
    4k -> equivalent of 1080 pixels vertical. Would you really want that for any work involving graphics and the kind of interfaces you'll have to deal with? 1440p of usable resolution or larger makes quite the difference IMO even if it doesn't look quite that sharp.

    5K makes sense if you really require the Hi-DPI. Is it not a little too much to handle for the nMP's 2012-era graphics though?
     
  7. mattspace macrumors 65816

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Benq's SW271 is a 4k 27" display, aimed primarily at photographers & designers - one thing it lacks is uniformity correction, which is slated for the upcoming 4k PV271 (which also has direct SDI input, and a built in popup calibrator).
     
  8. CC88 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #8
    I don't know what 2013 iMac pro is. Can you explain and be more clear?

    On a nMP 2013 you can run 4k or 5k monitor without any problem.

    I have the LG in sign. It's a 32" 4K monitor and I use it via Thunderbolt (miniDP).
     
  9. area08 thread starter macrumors newbie

    area08

    Joined:
    May 12, 2019
    #9
    iiyama ProLite XB2779QQS-S1; is the display i've chosen
     
  10. joevt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #10
    There's no reason you can't use a 4K display with the MacPro6,1. Whoever said you can't is wrong.

    The Iiyama ProLite XB2779QQS-S1 is a 5K display but requires DisplayPort 1.4 to achieve 5K 60 Hz 8 bpc (the LG UltraFine 5K and Dell UP2715K and HP z27q can do 10 bpc at 5K 60Hz because they use dual cable or dual link DisplayPort 1.2 which is 33% faster than DisplayPort 1.4). The MacPro6,1 only support DisplayPort 1.2 so you can do 4K 60Hz or 5K 46 Hz (I've only seen people be successful with 38 Hz - I say 46 Hz because using CVT-RB timing, it is under the 720 MHz max pixel clock for 8 bpc of DisplayPort 1.2 - that's not considering overhead or margin that the driver may want).

    You can use a dual cable Display Port 1.2 display (Dell UP2715K or HP z27q) to get 5K 60Hz 10 bpc. You can use an eGPU with the MacPro6,1 to get DisplayPort 1.4 (5K 60Hz 8 bpc). The BlackMagic eGPU can work with the LG UltraFine 5K. Without an eGPU, you can use an external GC-TITAN RIDGE or GC-ALPINE RIDGE to use a Thunderbolt display like the LG UltraFine 5K (but you can't use any of the functions of the display that require PCIe communication over Thunderbolt).
     
  11. Martyimac, Jun 4, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019

    Martyimac macrumors 68000

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #11
    Running a Dell P2715Q 27" 4K monitor on my 2013 MP at 2560x1440 and looks fine. Using TB-Display port cable.
     
  12. Martyimac macrumors 68000

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #12
    That info from  is wrong, and it's the same info the stores give out. Reality is the 5K will NOT work at 5K resolution on a 2013 Mac Pro. The info is somewhere on the  site, I'll see if I can find it.
    Found it: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT207448
     
  13. joevt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #13
    Dual cable 5K displays should work fine. An LG connected using an external GC-ALPINE RIDGE or GC-TITAN RIDGE should also work (but not the audio, and usb parts of the display)
    https://support.apple.com/en-ca/HT206587
     
  14. Martyimac macrumors 68000

    Martyimac

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Location:
    S. AZ.
    #14
    [​IMG]

    Have you tried this? I don't remember anybody posting that they got the LG 5K to work on a MP 2013. Thanks.
     
  15. joevt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #15
    I haven't tried it. There's reports of a dual cable 5K display working at #15 so the LG UltraFine 5K should work similarly if you have a properly powered GC-ALPINE RIDGE or GC-TITAN RIDGE to connect it to. You might need to power cycle the display to make it turn on #94.
     
  16. deconstruct60, Jun 6, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019

    deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #16
    The '4k' and '5k' there are being used as an abbreviation for the LG Ultra Fine 4K and 5K displays that Apple sells. That statement is not really all 4K and all 5K displays.

    Apple support doc : Use 4K displays, 5K displays, and Ultra HD TVs with your Mac

    and Mac Pro 2013 specifically. Use multiple displays with your Mac Pro (Late 2013)

    The LG Ultrafine 4K (the old one) uses USB Type-C DisplayPort alternative mode. That is the problematical one.

    The new one that Apple is selling. ( 24" 4K utlraFine) is a proper Thunderbolt display and should mostly work with an adapter.

    Use the 23.7-inch LG UltraFine 4K Display with your Mac or iPad Pro
    ( the MP 2013 falls into the "Mac with Thunderbolt 2" class )

    [ Mostly work because won't really have 'full bandwidth' behind the USB ports. e.g., I wouldn't hang 1-2 SSD drives off of it. ]
     
  17. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #17
    You know, it's amazing that with Windows you can buy a monitor and "it just works". With Apples, not so much.

    How can Apple screw up such a simple thing as connecting a monitor?
     
  18. joevt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #18
    The first support document says the Mac Pro 2013 supports dual cable 5K displays. The second one doesn't contradict that but doesn't mention 5K. The MacPro 2013 should be able to support three 5K displays (six DisplayPort 1.2 signals). The MacPro 2013 should be able to support LG UltraFine 5K displays after you convert two DisplayPort 1.2 signals to Thunderbolt 3 using a Thunderbolt 3 add-in card such as the GC-TITAN RIDGE or GC-ALPINE RIDGE.

    This one is easy for any Mac with Thunderbolt 2. Just add a USB-C with DisplayPort alt mode port by connecting a Thunderbolt 3 device that has two Thunderbolt 3 ports. A Thunderbolt 3 port can connect a USB-C display.

    The new 23.7 inch LG UltraFine 4K is a Thunderbolt display that uses the Titan Ridge Thunderbolt 3 controller, so it can be connected to any Thunderbolt 2 or Thunderbolt 3 computer (with adapter for Thunderbolt 2 computers) or any computer with a USB-C with DisplayPort alt mode port (like the MacBook or iPad Pro).

    Windows will have mostly the same problems with USB-C and Thunderbolt displays as MacOS. Be more specific if you know an example where this is not true.

    Some things macOS can't do:
    macOS doesn't support MST for chaining multiple displays.
    macOS doesn't support the Dell UP3218K 8K display at 8K 60Hz (although maybe the new 6K display is also a dual link or dual cable display requiring two DisplayPort 1.4 signals and the macOS update to support the 6K display can also support the 8K display?).
    macOS doesn't support g-sync or free sync (nvidia web drivers have a g-sync option but there are no web drivers for Mojave).

    Regarding MST: macOS supports old 4K displays that use MST to drive the left and right halves of the display. It support dual cable or dual link SST 5K displays (SST (not MST) is used for the left and right halves of the display).
    Apple describes the LG UltraFine 5K as dual link SST at https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208366
     
  19. chfilm macrumors 68000

    chfilm

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #19
    I use two Dell UP2715K displays that have dual thunderbolt cables on the nMP 2013 dual D700.
    It works like a charm! Sadly they discontinued this amazing display, but if you can get your hands on one somewhere, it‘s really super nice! Color wise it‘s also a real stunner!
     

Share This Page

18 May 12, 2019