New 24" iMac CPU throttling issues 2.4 but shows only 2.0

Discussion in 'iMac' started by keirnna, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. keirnna macrumors regular

    keirnna

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    I have the default configuration for the new 24" iMac, so the 2.4 Ghz C2D. I am wondering why Core Duo Temp reports that my CPU is only running at 2.0 Ghz. It is like CPU throttling is turned on, but no matter how much I stress the computer it will not bump up the clock speed to 2.4. The system profiler reports 2.4 Ghz as does Windows via boot camp, but I feel like I am getting gypped here by not getting my extra .4 Ghz of performance. So what I am wondering is how can I either disable the CPU throttling (if it is even enabled) and if that is no the problem and my iMac is actually running at 2.4 Ghz does anyone have any idea why Core Duo Temp reports it as 2.0 Ghz?
     
  2. negatv1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    MI
    #2
    Likely to be that CoreDuoTemp app hasn't been updated to be able to identify the CPUs correctly in the new machines, and thus just settles on reporting as a 2.0 CPU.
     
  3. Puckboy macrumors newbie

    Puckboy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #3
    I'm seeing the same thing, and was just about to post a new topic. Let me know if you end up seeing 2.4 in the CoreDuoTemp program.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Puckboy macrumors newbie

    Puckboy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #4
    I just downloaded the demo version of Hardware Monitor. While the demo version does not report the CPU frequency through the sensors, the system information part reports that it's a Core 2 Duo T7700, which is 2.4GHz.

    http://processorfinder.intel.com/details.aspx?sSpec=SLA43

    Everything *seems* to indicate that it truly is a 2.4GHz, but I'd like to have a real-time sensor tell me the "current" frequency, rather than have it read from the chip information.
     
  5. keirnna thread starter macrumors regular

    keirnna

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    Right as the CPU can throttle itself to save power and lower temp.
     
  6. gamera~ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Boston MA
    #6
    CoreDuoTemp gives a similar reading (i.e., lower than it should be) with my MBP SR.

    Someone posted it might be because the FSB on the new processors is faster now, and the program doesn't take that into account. (Doesn't make sense to me, but the math worked out).

    -Michael
     

Share This Page