New 27" iMac-- Do I turn it off at night?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by BrunoMac, Jan 11, 2010.

1. BrunoMac macrumors regular

BrunoMac

I used to leave my other computer on all the time, should I do the same with my iMac?

Thanks from a newb.

2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

Let it sleep. That way all the maintenance scripts can run when you reawaken.

3. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

I agree. Just put it to sleep instead of turning it off. I've been doing this with my iMac for almost 4 years now. I only reboot it every 4 or 5 months...

Bryan

P.S. One of the easiest ways to put it to sleep is to reach around and quickly tap the power button.

4. powerbook911 macrumors 68040

powerbook911

I always click my name in upper right corner, select to go back to the "log in screen."

Then I click sleep.

5. NewRevolution88 macrumors member

Use Hot Corners! Put that snow leopard spiffiness to use: :apple: > System Prefs > Expose & Spaces > Expose, then activate screen corners, assign the corner of your choice (mine is bottom left) to "Put display to sleep" and voila! Now you can put your beauty to sleep with one mouse swipe to that corner.

6. Yakuza macrumors 6502a

Yakuza

What is the advantage of keeping an iMac always on?? (when not in need, put to sleep), and not just turning it off?

I'm asking this because here, (portugal) that i know of, most of the people just turns off the computer, at the most keeps at sleep while away during the day, and at night they'll just turn it off.

I've only seen (in movies. lol sorry for the comparison), almost every time some one get near a computer it just needed a touch of a button to have it up and running. i always find it strange and kind of funny, it was almost a common thing to do :p

7. crut macrumors regular

I sleep my iMac and macbook so that the state I left it in is there in the morning.

That include what applications are running, what documents are open etc.

8. miniConvert macrumors 68040