New 27" iMac for Graphic Designer, help please.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by candyman, Feb 19, 2014.

1. candyman macrumors regular

So, I am replacing the trusty old 24" 3.06GHz iMac (early 2009) model. As a professional Graphic Designer, I use Photoshop & Illustrator religiously. I am readying the purchase of the new 27" iMac having 3 choices to make, but can really only afford upgrades to two of them. I am trying to stay under $2,500 ship & tax.

First off, a dedicated internal SSD drive is out of the budget for the space I need. I will be going with the 1TB Fusion drive. This was upgrade #1 and the easiest no-brainer. The next two, not so clear.

CPU. Is there really a need for the i7 3.5GHz over the i5 3.4GHz for graphics and photo work? I do a lot of web and print work and some large print format designs (vehicle design wraps, etc.) from time-to-time as well.

Graphics card. 775M with 2GB or 780M with 4GB? This is the upgrade I am leaning most towards along with the Fusion Drive. I have seen many posts and links online about the differences between the two, but they mostly focus on gaming or 3D animation or video, none of which I do.

I would love to hear the input and opinions on the benefits or lack thereof with the upgrades for the work that I do.

I do also think about future proofing. As I have gotten nice long 5 year run out of my current machine, I'm looking to do the same with this and wonder how much more demanding and larger files will get over the next few years.

2. yjchua95 macrumors 604

If the apps you use don't make use of multithreading, there isn't any point to go for the i7. The i7 will only shine in multithreaded apps and show about a 30-40% improvement.

A better GPU will speed up your rendering times. Since the GPU isn't upgradeable, go for the GTX780M if you can afford it. But the 775M is no slouch either.

3. Susansmac macrumors newbie

How to tell what apps use multithreading?