New 27" iMac for Video Editing

Discussion in 'iMac' started by TD95, Jun 5, 2014.

1. TD95 macrumors newbie

Hey Guys,

I've recently ordered a new 27" iMac (Late 2013) from Apple with the following specs:

- 3.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
    - 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM
    - 3TB Fusion Drive
    - NVIDIA GeForce GTX-780M 4GB GDDR5

I'm a film student who will be starting University later this year and will be using this machine primarily for heavy video editing work in After Effects and Premiere (mainly DSLR footage), as well as frequent photo editing in Photoshop and Lightroom. I'm also planning on adding an extra 16GB (2x 8GB) of Crucial RAM, bringing it to a total of 24GB RAM.

As this will be my first Mac I've done some extensive research to ensure this will be suitable for my needs and have a couple of questions:

1) Will this set of Crucial RAM work okay with my iMac? I know it doesn't mention the 'Late 2013 27" iMac' model under the compatibility section, but I believe the specifications match, but please correct me if I'm wrong. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Crucial-r...erComponents_MemoryRAM_JN&hash=item43b16e55e0

2) Do you think this setup will be suitable for the type of work that I will be doing, will there any issues in the long run? Aside from running out of storage of course, I intend on getting additional external HDDs in the near future.

Many Thanks in advance! :)

2. kitsunestudios macrumors regular

Looks good to me.

The memory specs are correct for your machine. The actual Crucial site seems to have slightly cheaper RAM available though: http://uk.crucial.com/gbr/en/compat...-quad-core-intel-core-i7-(27-inch,-late-2013)

We just got new 27" i5 iMacs with the 780M for Flash animation work at the office. If you download the CUDA Mac drivers from nVidea, you can get a boost over OpenCL render times in Adobe Media Encoder.

3. TD95 thread starter macrumors newbie