New 27" iMac on the way

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Stealthipad, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #1
    Specs are as follows:
    PROCESSOR 2.93GHZ QUAD-CORE I7

    MEMORY 8GB 1333MHZ DDR3 SDRAM - 4X2GB

    HARD DRIVE 1000Terabyte Drive and also
    256GB Solid State Hard Drive boots super FAST

    GRAPHICS ATI RADEON HD 5750 1GB GDDR5

    OPTICAL DRIVE 8X DOUBLE-LAYER SUPERDRIVE

    This iMac will ONLY be used for Windows 7 Ultimate. (sorry)

    I assume the SSD drive will have OSX on it for the fast boot. What would be the smallest "comfortable" bootcamp partition for OSX so I could use the majority for WIN7 64bit and my Windows Software?

    I would also assume that boot camp is my best choice as I would never use or boot to OSX unless updates were required. Boot camp would use the memory best if that is all I am going to use.

    I would use the 1TB drive for file storage and secondary back up.

    Your thoughts would be helpful.
     
  2. SpitUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    You can erase OS X if you don't need it. Otherwise, I would give it like 10-20GB.
     
  4. Stealthipad thread starter macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #4
    Thanks.

    Kinda scared to eliminate OSX 100%. Did not know you could do that!

    Could you point me to the process and advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

    I would always be able to re-install OSX with the disks before I sold the unit, would I not?

    Thanks HH, I have always depended on your advice.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Well, you save disk space but can't boot into OS X.

    Of course. That's the purpose of those discs

    One option is to install Windows to the SSD and then create a small partition in the HD and put OS X there. Just in case you need it
     

Share This Page