New 27" iMac - three displays?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by focusonthecloud, May 3, 2011.

  1. focusonthecloud macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #1
    I noticed that the new 27" iMac has two Thunderbolt ports. Does anyone know if you will be able to plug in and use two additional displays with it?

    - Matt
     
  2. XiXora macrumors newbie

    XiXora

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    London
  3. focusonthecloud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #3
    Oh? Where?
     
  4. SpitUK macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #4
    WOW, so I can have an iMac in the middle and a 27" Apple Cinema Display either side for workspace? If so I have a new dream Apple setup :eek:
     
  5. Gordy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #5
    That was my first reaction when seeing the two ports! That would be an amazing setup!
     
  6. igoodso macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    #6
    thunderport to ps3

    can you plug a ps3 into the additional thunderbolt port
     
  7. focusonthecloud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    #7
    Can anyone verify where it says that two additional displays will work?
     
  8. bugout macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    is everything!
    #8
    http://www.apple.com/imac/performance.html

     
  9. focusonthecloud thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
  10. SR20DETDOG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    #10
    This was one major things I was hanging out for personally.

    I'm (eventually) wanting to add a Dell U2711 to the iMac and while, if i have my facts straight, I could daisy chain a couple of HDD and the display from one port that would require the display to be at the end which I really didn't want. Thankfully that won't be necessary :)

    Can't wait to get my hands on my first Mac :D really need an upgrade from 6yr old XP box:(
     

Share This Page