New 27" imac - Why no 2TB Option?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by reflekshun, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. reflekshun macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #1
    As a bootcamp user, 1TB is too small to split partitions between OSX and Windows, however 3TB will not work with Bootcamp. So people like me are left with no great options, as these are the only build to order options apple is advertising!

    Does anyone know based on rumors, deduction or bits of info flying around if the hybrid drive will still work with 3rd party HDDs / SSDs? if thats the case, I would gladly pay for a 256GB SSD and a 2TB HDD and be satisfied. I know this is a long shot considering no one has got one, but I'm planning to build a studio and I don't know where else to ask about this!

    Appreciate any help!
     
  2. Yeroon macrumors member

    Yeroon

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #2
    Apple is limiting the configuration option to keep it simple. Maybe they thought 1 TB would be enough for the average consumer and offer 3 TB for power users. I myself regret the fact that they will not offer 4 TB drives (out in the wild for some time).

    You can always use an external drive for Bootcamp.
     
  3. OlegPasko macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Location:
    UA
    #3
    The same problem with displays... Why no 24" option? :D
     
  4. iMarvin macrumors 6502

    iMarvin

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Location:
    On the internet!
    #4
    Get the 1TB option and get some thunderbolt storage. :)
     
  5. reflekshun thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #5
    Yeroon: I would love to do that, but unfortunately bootcamp does not work with external drives!

    iMarvin: I will consider that option, it will introduce more noise but running my projects on a separate disk to my system will have some benefits. Thanks for that idea.
     
  6. eagandale4114 macrumors 65816

    eagandale4114

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #6
    It does work. Guide.
     
  7. reflekshun thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #7
    eagandale: Thanks for the heads up, but after reading through that thread, the solution is patchy and seems to not work for the most part.

    A thunderbolt SSD drive is also too costly a solution for me (looking for a 1TB partition for windows).

    Here's hoping that the internal SSD and HDD can be replaced manually in the new 27" imac!
     

Share This Page