New 27' iMac - Windows 7 Problem

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ShockTroop, May 18, 2011.

  1. ShockTroop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #1
    So I just got me new iMac (might I say it is awesome!). It's the 27' model with 2GB VRAM. I partitioned 50GB for Windows 7. Went through the install process and at the stage that I enter my username Windows gets ready to start then shuts down. When I restart in bootcamp, all I get is a black screen with a blink bar at the top left. Mac side works fine, but the windows side won't load. Even when I put the disk in it will bring up "press any key........" and it gets stuck on that as well.


    Any ideas?
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Did you install the various post-release updates for that iMac first? I have an iMac very similar to yours, just with 1GB of VRAM instead of 2GB. There are a bunch; Mac OS X 10.6.7 Update for iMac (early 2011) is the most important.
     
  3. ShockTroop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #3
    Yes.

    Also my bootcamp partition is labeled Untitled.
     
  4. ShockTroop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #4
    Found this:

    "Fixed! And FYI it wasn't a pirated copy - just OEM one, which Bootcamp advise against using... they advise to use retail only. Fixed like this:

    1. Put the Windows 7 installation disc in the disc drive, and then start your computer.
    2. Hold down Option key till all available disks are displayed and select DVD. Press a key when you are prompted.
    3. Select a language, a time, a currency, a keyboard or an input method, and then 4. click Next.
    5. Click Repair your computer.
    6. Click the operating system that you want to repair, and then click Next.
    7.In the System Recovery Options dialog box, click Command Prompt.

    Type (these commands are safe)
    Code: Bootrec.exe /FixMbr
    Code: Bootrec.exe /FixBoot
    Code: Bootrec.exe /RebuildBcd
    *Press ENTER after each command.*
    *Restart your computer.*"

    Will try after work today.......fingers crossed....
     
  5. ShockTroop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    #5


    This fixed my problem......
     

Share This Page