New 2TB + SSD iMac... is the 2TB empty or not?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Amnesiac1, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. Amnesiac1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #1
    You see, when I click on the 2TB HD, it says:

    "Capacity: 2TB
    Available: 2TB
    "

    However, when I look at it in Finder, under SIZE, it says "852.6 MB"... why is this? Why the discrepancy?
     
  2. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It says the drive size is 834mb?!

    or that 834mb are used on the disc?
     
  3. Amnesiac1, Aug 29, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2011

    Amnesiac1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #3
    That 852MB has been used.
     
  4. Amnesiac1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #4
    And yet, when I click the HD, it appears to have no contents. What is taking up that (admittedly minor) amount of space, then? And why does it tell me the HD does has 2TB free when I request info on the drive?
     
  5. nOw2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    #5
    Operating systems and working overheads.

    And for why it still says "2TB": 2 TB - 834 MB = 1.999161 TB (SI)

    i.e. it's correct to 3 decimal places which is still excessively accurate.
     
  6. chas0001 macrumors 6502a

    chas0001

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Alicante, SPAIN
    #6
    Perhaps its the Lion "Recovery HD" partition. Launch terminal and type

    diskutil list
     
  7. Amnesiac1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    #7
    What am I looking for when I do this?
     
  8. xraydoc macrumors demi-god

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #8
    Don't bother. The second drive is blank from the factory. You're not missing any space.

    ----------

    This.
     
  9. Texran macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #9
    partition, boot, and trash information takes up space. Also humans think in powers of ten vs computers calculate in 2's.
     

Share This Page