Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iphoneuser-1234

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 9, 2012
Hello Folks,

I am a newbie to iPhone hacks and JB

I got a new 3GS (version: 5.0.1, Modem firmware: 05.16.05, First five digits of serial #: 87203) which was already jailbroken (i guessed because I could see Cydia in it) and it was locked to AT&T. I attemted to unlcok it using the SAM method and did not succeed. Doing some google later revealed apple has somehow blocked it. The phone was getting turned on but showed "No service" when i put my sim card in (I could not try putting an AT&T sim since I dont have any)

Then i tried to flash the firmware to iPad BB without paying much attention to the warnings against flashing firmware for iphones with serial number higher than 135 as their 3rd, 4th and 5th digits (mine shows 203) :eek:

I used redsn0w_win_0.9.10b8b to flash the BB. Everything was looking ok.. finally I got a screen which said something like "flashing baseband... do not interrupt" and then the screen went blank.

Now, no matter what I try, it shows the apple bootup logo for like 2-3 minutes goes black scree and again apple logo (loop?)

Is there any way to get it fixed?

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
iPhoneUser-1234

braxton34

macrumors member
Mar 18, 2012
Try getting into DFU mode and then run redsnow, hit jailbreak but do not select anything and let it do it's thing and see what happens??

I know sometimes when I install just the ipad baseband and nothing else it gets stuck on the Apple logo.

If it was a 8GB model from mid 2011 (or later) you may have corrupted the baseband irreversibly....

iphoneuser-1234

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 9, 2012