new 4K iMac causing motion sickness

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jacobi, Mar 6, 2019.

1. Jacobi macrumors member

I was so happy to get my new 4K iMac this week -- the Retina display is just beautiful. BUT: I can't use the thing for more than 10 minutes before feeling woozy -- my eyes feel strained and I get nauseous from a kind of motion sickness feeling. I am coming from a 2012 MacBook Air, which I can use for 12 hours straight without any problems. I also have an iPhone and iPad and don't have any issue with those screens. I've tried adjusting the brightness and scaling of the display, to no avail. Here are some theories:

- Could it be the glossy display glass? I've never used a computer with this before. Is it different from iPhone/iPad's glossy display?

- Could it have something to do with the scrolling / macOS motions on a larger screen? I feel like the effect happens more when I am scrolling webpages, switching between Spaces, etc. Maybe the screen is TOO smooth in its effects which is tricking my eyes somehow? And yet I scroll all day on my old MBA without issue.

I would LOVE some insight here so I don't have to return my new iMac. But maybe I'll have to go Mac mini and use a non-glossy display or something.

2. cruisin macrumors 6502a

cruisin

The most likely reason is the technique used to dim the display, called Pulse Width Modulation or PWM.

Since physically dimming the backlight is difficult to control, certain devices essentially flicker the light so that you get an average brightness that is dimmer. Since turning off the light actually fades off (not a sharp transition) you can "dim" the light by making a sequence of these dimming stages. Your eyes are supposed to blend this together, similarly to how classic CRT screens would not show them constantly being scanned top to bottom. Every device has its own specific version of PWM.