New 5S but TouchID doesnt work

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by twisdit, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. twisdit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #1
    So i setup and restored my iphone. everything is working fine, all my data is back except the touchid not working. I already configured it and it registered but it doesnt work. Im still prompt with the slide to unlock followed by my 4 digit pin to unlock. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. thegrants82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Location:
    Right here
    #2
    Sounds like you are. Mine is working flawlessly.
     
  3. yanki01 macrumors 68030

    yanki01

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    do you have to allow touch ID to unlock the iphone in the settings?
     
  4. BHP41 macrumors 6502a

    BHP41

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Location:
    United States of America
  5. firstapple macrumors 6502a

    firstapple

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #5
    If you restart the phone it requires you to input your pin/password for the first sign in. Maybe that's the problem?
     
  6. TheKrs1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    #6
    Really? He said he configured it. Your advice is to tell him where the sensor is?
     
  7. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    You don't slide to unlock, you just press the Home button to wake, then then rest the registered finger on the button.
     
  8. twisdit thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #8
    lol i feel so stupid.. not sure what i did but i removed any saved finger prints, re-entered the pin and registered my finger print.. all is working now. Mod/admin you can delete/lock this thread :rolleyes:
     
  9. mediaphage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012
    #9
    It's a good post for him and others, as it isn't immediate and you need to hold your finger on it for a half sec or so.
     
  10. prism macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    #10
    That's it, you need to finger the sensor gently to arouse it :D
     
  11. BHP41 macrumors 6502a

    BHP41

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Location:
    United States of America
    #11
    Yes, the way he worded his post made it seem as if he shouldn't be be expecting the slide to unlock. Even with it setup, you don't have to use it. You can slide to unlock and type in the passcode as always. So yes, my advice to him was, hold your finger over the home button.
     

Share This Page