New 6TB Drive will not mount on 2009 mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bfred123, Jan 4, 2016.

  1. bfred123 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    #1
    I have a 2009 MacBook Pro 17 inch and a 2009 iMac. I just purchased a Toshiba X300 6TB SATA Drive and a NewerTech Voyager Q Hard Drive Dock. I can mount smaller drives with the dock but the 6TB drive will not mount on either computer. I am running OS 10.10.5 on both machines. Do older macs have some limit on the external drive size?
     
  2. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    No it has nothing to do with the mac it would be in my experience the dock chipset controller that has the problem with it, now I could be wrong but doubt it having seen many such problems in the past. A quick google on that model does say up to 6tb supported though but I will still go with it being the problem as there should be no limit at all, a 8tb following the SATA specification should work in it as the chipset if designed properly would implement that specification.
     
  3. bfred123 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    #3
    Thanks for your helpful reply! I called OWC where I bought the dock and they told me to connect with USB to format the drive. Once formatted I was able to mount the drive using Firewire. All is good.
     
  4. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Good to hear so it was the firewires Oxford chipset that was the problem initially like I suspected then. Although it is strange only a non formatted drive caused it, should not be surprised really I have seen some stupid problems in my few decades of using these things...
     
  5. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #5
    A 6 TB Toshiba drive would have been factory formatted to NTFS which is why OWC told him to attach the drive via USB and reformat it. I don't think it had anything to do with the chipset.
     
  6. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Really so somehow a drive advertising itself as 6tb thru the chipset to a device does not show up, formatted or not at that point the formatting does not come into it. And while I am thinking about it along those lines just how did it work to format with the usb connection if it was not the firewire connection screwing it up???
     

Share This Page